La Mejor (The Best)

What are the odds?  I mean really!  And, yes, this has happened to me many times on my travels.  Maybe not to this extent, of course, but, hey!  The truth can be stranger than fiction.  In THIS story’s case … it’s FICTION!  

 

Thanks, Rich for this hypnotic pic!  I’ll have to find this hotel next time!

Image

 

 

 

 

The magnificently dark-haired, dark-eyed and shapely Mexican beauty framed his hotel doorway.  

 

His lower lip threatened to quiver.  “Franchesca!!”

 

Her broken English wafted from her lips, caressing his ears.  “Francisca … Paca. You are … Lee?”  

 

His glasses fogged up.  More boring video footage of the ruins tomorrow?  Not THIS time.  Travel editor be damned!

 

“Where do you want to eat?”

 

She bit her lip.  “Emmm … no peoples. No peoples.”

 

Walking along the hotel corridor, a news program in Spanish emanated beyond the doors.  “Francisca Vega, star of the telenovela Mujer De Mi Vida, continues to elude her body guards …” 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to La Mejor (The Best)

  1. Wow, this happens to you, even sometimes?? Reminds me a lot of an episode of “Psych.” I particularly liked that his glasses fogged up. 🙂

  2. wmqcolby says:

    I met a telenovela actor on my way to Central Mex. And I have met beautiful and interested ladies down there many times. I just put the two together.

  3. Bumba says:

    What hotel was this?

  4. Sandra says:

    In his dreams, I fear… Nice one.

  5. wmqcolby says:

    I don’t know. It’s an actual pic of a Mexican hotel, but I always stayed in people’s homes.

  6. Just as long as he doesn’t get beat up by those same bodyguards if/when they get discovered.

  7. rich says:

    someone is about to have a very good time…well done

  8. Tom Poet says:

    David,
    I have a thing for Spanish Women and they seem to have one for this red faced Irish American….Love being anywhere south of Texas.
    Tom

  9. Anne Orchard says:

    A night to remember! I wondered if in the first sentence she was framed in his doorway, rather than ‘[she] framed his doorway’? The doorway seems like a frame to me, not the person.

  10. wmqcolby says:

    Actually a good point, Anne. I read it a few more times and thought the same thing as did Rochelle.

  11. brudberg says:

    Once the glasses you’re lost to lust. 🙂

  12. Russell says:

    I’m with Bjorn. Once the glasses fogged over I didn’t care where she wanted to eat.

  13. Hi Kent,
    A travel adventure, what a great and creative response to this photo. Ron

  14. billgncs says:

    now that’s a vacation!

  15. Pete says:

    Curious relationship, but somewhere I’d like to stay I think. Well done.

  16. Parul says:

    I like how his glasses fogged up. Not one for cool subtlety our guy! 🙂

  17. IF I were him, I would worry about those body guards. I suggest they stay in and order room service.

  18. Dear Kent,

    An unknown, little heralded honor is what I call the last comment. I’ve read every damn story in the growing field of FF entries and yours is hands down one of the best. Wanted to make sure you got this message loud and clear so I waited until the line cleared out to tell you. Very, very good story that made all themen wish they were your MC. So here it is, Kent, the last comment. I loved your piece this week and think you should be very proud of it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thank-you, Doug. I am humbled and flattered.
      Kind of strange, though. We reported this morning that Jenni Rivera died in a plane crash over the weekend. She wasn’t the inspiration for Srta. Vega, but the timing is weird.
      Again, thanks for your great comments and also your terrific contributions. They’re awesome!

  19. Sunshine says:

    Ah, the burden of being born beautiful and talented…I love the ending of your story as we find out just in passing who this mysterious beautiful woman is. Your story, in a way, reminded me of the recent movie about Marilyn Monroe.

  20. Debra Kristi says:

    Well, well. I think things are about to get interesting. And then you pulled the plug on us. Sigh. 😀 Enjoyed it!

  21. I hope his nerves will settle soon…. Because he’s gonna have a good time!! 😀

  22. tedstrutz says:

    ‘Lower lip threatened to quiver’… Loved that line! This could be the start to an interesting story… now who would star? Selma Hayek and Bill Macy… my choice.

  23. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Muy buen cuento. Habla Espanol? 😉

Leave a Reply

