Ah, Summer Camp

This really did happen … not to me, though.  My buddy Gary, his brother Larry and their friend James, yes.  All I did was distill it down to 100 words.  Based on a true anecdote, along with an Aloha Doug Original snapshot (thanks, Doug!) you’ll hear my rendition of a story that I just couldn’t let get away, it was so good!

By the way, I have a new blog called So Nice To Media on this WordPress account.  If you or any other authors are interested in how to make great video trailers, I can show you how for FREE!  So stop by.

Now, on with the show!

 

Image

 

Larry, James and I strolled around the camp in Bartlesville.  Closed for winter, we saw nothing had changed after thirty years.  Ellen’s and my name … still on a wall. I found childhood again!

 

In the middle of the euphoria of the visit, I couldn’t take anymore. I turned to my brother.  

 

“Larry … man, I gotta take a DUMP!”

 

James stood guard outside as we did our thing. The toilets didn’t flush. “Larry!  What do we do?”

 

“Well … just wipe good and let’s get the hell out!”

 

Speeding away from the camp, I imagined tomorrow’s newspaper headlines — “Phantom Crapper Invades Campground.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Ah, Summer Camp

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Kent,

    Was it Golden? I know who did it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. I shudder to think which part of this photo made you think of that story!! 🙂 Maybe they wiped with old copies of “Crapper’s Weekly.” Just saying.

  3. yerpirate says:

    Red bucket would have come in handy!

  4. Sandra says:

    This is what you call ‘thinking outside the box’. 🙂
    On a technical note (it’s the martinet in me :() I’d say ‘ My name and Ellen’s’ rather than ‘Ellen’s and my name’. It doesn’t always have to be ladies first…
    Original take on the prompt Kent.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Sandra! As to the technical, Ellen is her name, so it’s “Ellen’s name.” If her name were “Ellens” then the possessive would be “Ellens’ name.” Part of the American educational programme … program! 😀

      • Sandra says:

        I understand your point, which goes without saying, American or otherwise. 😉 I didn’t make myself clear – the second apostrophe in Ellen’s’ was meant to be taken as a quotation mark at the end of the phrase, as in “My name and Ellen’s” not a possessive punctuation mark. It was the order that bothered me, not the punctuation, but I guess it’s just a Brit thing.

        FROM KENT: Gotcha, Sandra. Sorry, I misread it.

  5. Parul says:

    Err… “Nice” take on the prompt. The fact that it’s true made it all the more amusing!
    Phantom crapper…. lol!

    • wmqcolby says:

      Indelicate subject, I know. But, SO true to humanity and its weaknesses, foibles and the experience.

      I don’t necessarily know what all that b.s. means, but …

  6. Tom Poet says:

    A funny story Kent….Sorry about calling you by the wrong name last week. Reminds me of all too many construction site stories….I can relate. Is this a crapper story because it’s Doug Photo? A Golden piece. Thanks for the laughs.

    Tom

  7. wmqcolby says:

    It seems to have had that effect.

  8. boomiebol says:

    Lol…interesting take on the prompt. I bursted in laughter after that last line

  9. kz says:

    hahaha rochelle’s comment is the best! lol indeed, an interesting take

  10. Hi Kent,
    Bartlesville? Do I detect a fellow Okie here? Funny story! Ron

  11. Well, never mind. it happens all the time where there is no water. Good take 🙂

  12. rich says:

    phantom crapper. oh boy. every camp has one. well done. childhood found. i’m sure there have been things like that in my past.

  13. mari wells says:

    That last line had me laughing so hard.

  14. Well, I never would have thought of that! Great job.

  15. Russell says:

    Here’s a true story. My nephews and I “fixed” the toliets at a public campground. We raised the rings and stretched clear film across the toliet, then lowered the rings. Unsuspecting guess were strangley warmed when bodily waste began to back-up

  16. tedstrutz says:

    Wasn’t you… yeah right! Good story.

  17. Debra Kristi says:

    Holy…(bleep!) 😀 I was laughing just as much at some of the comments as at the flash fiction. Score one for originality, Kent. On the subject of your new blog, you may want to add a link in the top tabs. I believe WP allows you to link blogs together like that. You should check it out.

  18. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Made me laugh and smile and…Heeeeeee! 😀 What a story. Reminded me of every PortoPotty I ever went into…Yeesh! Those things are disgusting! Excellent story. Well done. Also reminded me of this little poem:

    http://joe2poetry.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/the-phantom-shitter/

    Heh! Scatological humor strikes again. 🙂

    😆

Leave a Reply

