Don’t Even THINK About it

Slap-Happy New Year, everyone!

 

My first story of 2013 deals with drama, music, one-upmanship and the sweet smell of success.  

 

Bassed on a true anecdote (get it?  “bassed?”  haha), I bring you a musical number sure to please.  

 

Thanks to Roger Cohen for this really neat pic!!  Reminds me of my band days. 

 

And a low BOW to the QUEEN of All Who Write On This Blog Page, Rochelle Pistov-Fields.  (boy, am I going to pay for THIS one …)

 
 
Image
 
 

When Aunt Wilma called Mom to ask me if I knew Donna Manners from my college days, I wondered what “Prima Donna” Manners wanted with my aunt.

 

Said she was an aspiring country singer. Could she stay with Aunt Wilma and Uncle Bob for awhile in Nashville while she worked it out?

 

I remember her full of talent AND herself … making me look stupid in front of the music instructors who said she clearly had the superior voice.

 

“Tell Aunt Wilma no!”  Being late, I headed for the theater.  Gotta get there fast!  They can’t start La Traviata without “Violetta.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Don’t Even THINK About it

  1. Meeeeeeeeoooooooowwwww!! You took catty to a new level. Nice job. Good for Violetta…not looking stupid now. Full of talent and herself. Well put.
    Pistov? Hahahahaha! You will pay.
    Now you may kiss my…
    …ring.
    Lovingly
    The Queen

  2. No way I can follow those comments! I liked “full of talent AND herself”. I know some of those. And you are SO in trouble with the conductor!!

  3. kz says:

    how can i not love this! ^^

  4. JackieP says:

    nice one

  5. Hi Kent,
    If you’re singing opera and she’s singing country, you’ve already won! Fun story. Ron

  6. billgncs says:

    it’s much easier to be a guy. We could just fight then be friends.

  7. Tom Poet says:

    Cattiness… can’t stand it! I can take being full of yourself but cattiness I hate. Well done Kent.

    Tom

    • wmqcolby says:

      I work in TV where there are a LOT of women.
      I hear a lot of conversations.
      YOU make the call! 😀

      • Tom Poet says:

        I joke around when I see someone with a physically big head calling it a “TV head”. I was in the theater business for a few years (I.A.T.S.E.) as a projectionist and stagehand. Mainly a projectionist but we were called in often enough to do in/outs on a productions…met plenty of stars so I would say you have both on your hands. Just walk away, man… just walk away….LOL

  8. Sandra says:

    Very funny – one upmanship with a smooth veneer of cattiness. Nicely done.

  9. This is great, Kent! Loved it. I loved that you called her Violetta. That’s perfect. There’s always a bit cattiness among performing artists, as least in my experience. – Amy

    • wmqcolby says:

      Interesting thing: I work in TV for a Morning Show and we interviewed an opera singer who is a Grammy winning artist. She was SO NICE! Big clue (maybe?) was that she never HAD aspirations to be an opera singer. She was mainly an instructor, assistant, in colleges. She also spare-timed in opera productions. Then, someone heard her sing, recommended her to someone, etc., etc., and now she’s an opera star! She was kind of the inspiration for the main character. The story itself is based on a true incident my aunt had with a former classmate of mine, except it was a HE all talent and all idiot.

  10. KC says:

    *chuckles* Opera star to “aspiring” Country star…me-oww! I love La Traviata, btw. One of my top ten for tear-jerkers…especially that last scene. “Oh, I’m all better! Oh, wait, no I’m not…” *dies* 😉

  11. Oh scratch those eyes out. Clearly a cut above the country singing west. Really enjoyed this one 🙂

  12. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Linda! I had no idea the ladies were seeing cattiness in this story. Guys aren’t too well-known for that. As Rochelle told me once, I needed to work on my “woman-speak.” I guess I did it!

  13. Hehe, the name Wilma always reminds me of the Flintstones! But my smile in response to that soon turned to a “wow, get those claws in!” repsonse. Good piece. 🙂

  14. brudberg says:

    Revenge is a dish best served cold. Great story.

  15. mari wells says:

    Amazing story. Did Aunt and Uncle allow Prima Donna to stay with them? I have an aunt who would just to spite me. 😀

    • wmqcolby says:

      No, they didn’t. In real life, this guy I was in the college music program with called up my aunt long after we graduated (I, my mom and my aunt went to the same college) and asked this. I changed the sex of the character, etc.

  16. Anne Orchard says:

    That is so spiteful! You’d think she might have mellowed when she got her dreams, but no. Great writing and came across as completely truthful. You are obviously a great listener.

  17. muZer says:

    Hehe.. And now they are even.. Violetta would’ve smiled all the way to the theater. Enjoyed reading this..

  18. my favorite line: “full of talent and herself.”

  19. Great story, I love it, even though I don’t know the name of the lead character in La Traviata!

  20. nightlake says:

    so much of talent..but also envy and pride..so very well written..

  21. Dear Kent,

    This was a great story pulled right out of your memory ‘files’ and offered up for our enjoyment. might be a lesson there. Short stories? Long stories? (Now there’s a novel idea!)

    Aloha,

    Doug

  22. rich says:

    love the word “violetta.” well done.

Leave a comment