Not McGee

The following story really IS true as well as the characters.  I might tell her later I used her …

… NAH!!!!

The prompt is great because it’s an original photo AND sculpture!  Fine work!!!  Thank-you, Claire!

And now … here it is.

Image

Me and Bobby are in that two-headed sculpture.

I loved him since elementary school through Jonesboro High. After choir, the “baritone” kissed the “soprano.”   I KNEW he was for me!

But he just HAD to go into the army. I waited and finally moved on.  After his discharge, he wasn’t the same Bobby. At the same time, I was working on my third failed marriage.

So, we married two months after our 30th class reunion.  I kept the statue until our divorce 1 year later.

Guess you might say me and Bobby WERE in that sculpture … 30 years ago!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Not McGee

  1. yerpirate says:

    You did the right thing…the divorce I mean..unexpected, yes, but gave the story something extra..

  2. Definite voice here. I think I’d lose the second “But” if I were you. But I’m not.
    “Not McGee”…hahahahahahahahahaha. Gotcha.

  3. kz says:

    McGee? who, what? i smiled at first thinking it was gonna be a lovely romance… then he went to the army >< then the story morphed into something a little closer to harsh reality.. i went through different emotions.

    • wmqcolby says:

      It’s an old song called “Me and Bobby McGee.” Janis Joplin sang it back in the day. The title (as all my other ones) is sort of a spontaneous one since I needed it fast.
      Interesting you thought it was going to be a lovely romance. The girl (her name is Terry in real life) thought and hoped the same thing. The point of the story is that she fell in love with the memory of who he WAS rather than the man himself. Teachable moment, cautionary tale, huh?

  4. Pretty sad tale, and Rochelle’s right – you have the voice.

  5. pennycoho says:

    Well after reading the other comments I think I have the story now. And I can say, nicely done!

  6. claireful says:

    Glad you liked the sculpture. The other commentators are right – there is a really strong voice in this little piece. Nice.

  7. muZer says:

    Such a fast paced story.. And ending with a divorce was sad.. But well written.

  8. Sandra says:

    How true is that! Nicely done.

  9. Very well done story with an ending that surprised me and well served the prompt.

  10. vbholmes says:

    With at least three failed marriages under her belt, I’d say her union with Bobby didn’t have much of a chance. I hope poor Terry had a few less divorces in real life.

  11. I agree that her union with Bobby was doomed from the beginning with that track record. Interesting story none the less. Thanks for sharing

  12. Parul says:

    Sad and dramatic. Very nice writing style.
    I quite liked your story.

  13. the voice is perfect in this, perfect.

  14. She had a rough life, didn’t she? And I do remember the song. 🙂 But then you would have already known that from my story last week with the 60’s song titles.

    janet

  15. nightlake says:

    Her memories and the harsh realities of the man…especially after he returned from the army..well written

  16. sandraconner says:

    So much truth that applies to way too many lives. It’s sad, but you chose a great format for relating it.

  17. Tom Poet says:

    Great voice in this….Great voice in the song as well. One of my favorite singers…Nice Job….Real clear sound to your MC.
    Tom

  18. Joe Owens says:

    Ah reality, the cruel piece we never expect to change our romantic wishes. We can wax on forever about the perfect partner, but how do we know if fate will leave them untouched so we can love the perfect mate?

  19. At first I didn’t read the title, so I was about to make a McGee comment… 🙂 gee well done

  20. Time moves on and changes us – not always for the better 😦 , and sometimes we just can’t start over. I wonder what would have happened to both of them if he hadn’t gone into the army?

  21. annisik51 says:

    I like that the couple in the story were not able to ‘complete themselves’ as a couple, echoed in the incompleteness of the sculpture. Pity the couple weren’t able to ‘chisel’ away at their relationship until it became complete. But then the heroine has a history of giving up on relationships, of being ‘unable to wait’, or in marrying men who have not been willing to wield the chisel! Ann

  22. First thing I thought of was Janis Joplin’s Me and Bobby McGee. Loved your story.

  23. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Kent,

    And there, locked in stone, they should stay. Nice work this week.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  24. Stone doesn’t change like people do. Sometimes we can’t recapture what’s been lost. Good job~

Leave a Reply

