Son and Fun in El Salvador

As you remember, I wrote a 100-word story called My Summer Vacation (scroll down past the previous story, Not McGee, and you’ll see it) where a young man is about to marry a native El Salvadorian and his parents are coming to the wedding.  Well, now we have the second part —  another side of things but from the PARENTS’ perspective.  We find out their names are Naomi and Carl and they are going to El Salvador to see their son, Kevin, marry a native girl named Rosita.  No surprise there.

Or is it?

So, let’s hop aboard the plane (thanks, Rich!) …

Image

… and get in on the mom and dad’s conversation!

Part 2 of My Summer Vacation, called Son and Fun In El Salvador.

+++++++++

Naomi and I had our seats near a crying baby on the four-hour long flight to El Salvador.  I felt like crying, too.  Our Kevin, down there getting married to … what was her name?  Rosita?

“He quit!!!  That idiot left the best money he ever made …”

Naomi interrupted my rant while wrestling with her pillow.  “If I remember right, Carl, YOU were just as crazy about me as he is with HER.”   She paused.  “You don’t suppose …?”

“What? He knocked her up?”

“Let’s say he did.  What will YOU say?”

I thought, then sighed.  “Welcome to the club, Kevin.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Son and Fun in El Salvador

  1. I liked that your rounded out the first story with this one. There are always two sides, aren’t there? Sounds as though things might be different when they arrive than I thought from the previous story.

    janet

    • wmqcolby says:

      I really hate the ending, though, since it gives us a view that the parents aren’t any better than the kid. But, hey, what goes around , comes around.

      • If children do something “bad”, when they grow up, marry and have children, that thing is still there, which might make them “no better than their child.” It won’t magically go away. But did they learn from it and can what they learned help their children have a better life or help them understand their children better? Of can they help their children not make the same mistakes because they’ve “been there, done that.” (I really hate that phrase, but…) That’s what’s important.

    • wmqcolby says:

      You know, Janet, with the right photo prompt, we just MIGHT get Rosita’s side of things. Hmmm …

  2. I enjoyed part 2. parents were kids once too. I like the ending.

  3. I liked the unconditional love of this pair.

  4. ¡Hola Primo!
    Nice one. I like the “what goes around comes around” nature of this one. And I liked the ending…Welcome to the club…hahahahahahaha. Sweet!
    Paz,
    Rochelle

  5. billgncs says:

    wow – I hope there’s a couch where they are going. Somebody is relegated to it.

  6. kz says:

    oooh HER – she doesn;t get to be called by her name? ^^ lol welcome to the club haha made me smile

  7. yerpirate says:

    ”welcome” indeed! Just the bitter tinge there…a sharp edge there..forgiveness I think,was called for…a story to make one think….and PS.new challenge if you’d like to have a go..http://ligoeditions.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/the-ligo-haibun-challenge-prompt-melt/

  8. It’s life. Though I hate when people use the term knocked up. It’s rather insulting for a child to come in the world being labeled this way. However, I wouldn’t join the club. Perhaps the club can use some counseling.

    Great read…..I enjoyed it. Had a little humor, and a real reality check.

    Blessings,
    Shenine

    • wmqcolby says:

      The club DEFINITELY could use some counseling!
      Yes, the term “knocked up” is somewhat rude and blunt, but fathers have a tendency to overreact, particularly when it involves their boy (I could have written worse, but I DO try for the higher ground, just to let you know).
      Glad you liked the read.

  9. nightlake says:

    revisiting his past..a different ending with a touch of humor and irony as well

  10. Sandra says:

    Such a realistic conversation, I could have almost been there. Nice one!

  11. rich says:

    so it bring to mind the question of, “can we criticize others for making the same mistakes that we made?” of course it first has to be determined if it fits the definition of “mistake.” well done.

  12. I found the introduction a little choppy and distracting but once i decided to hang in there I was rewarded. Nice job.

  13. Like father, like son. Cute story.

  14. tedstrutz says:

    Welcome to the club… That’s great!

  15. Tom Poet says:

    I like the intro…the story…the family and the honesty. Well done! Those fertile horny clowns!

    Tom

  16. Anne Orchard says:

    I think this is great, especially building on the earlier story. The ending is perfect – rueful acceptance that we can’t expect our children to get it all right when we didn’t. Hope it all turns out well for them.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Anne. I’m thinking of writing from Rosita’s POV. Seems like people want to hear more, although it’s going to take the right prompt.
      I’ll be reading yours tomorrow — it’s been a busy week!

  17. elappleby says:

    I love hearing the parents’ side of this – the last line was fabulous. Had me laughing out loud!

  18. t says:

    I loved the last line – spoken like a true father, resigned to being so.

  19. Joe Owens says:

    I have always thought of how one sided a lot of tales are. Of course sometimes it is due to 100 word limits. The depth this adds also gives more life to the beach story. Thanks for continuing and I will wait with anticipation to see if the next prompt adds more.

  20. Of course parents always forget how history repeats itself. It made me happy.

  21. annisik51 says:

    I loved how you wrote in the racist bit: what was her name, Rosita?

    • wmqcolby says:

      Interesting you’d see that. “Prejudiced” is the better term, since that covers many areas, namely, thinking the worst of their son and his motives (“Just what kind of trouble have you gotten into THIS time?”).

      Thanks. It’s a story arc I might expand.

      • annisik51 says:

        What kind of trouble … Trouble involving somebody whose name is Rosita. If you want to confine the trouble to prejudice that can’t be interpreted as racist, perhaps Rosita is not a good name to choose?

  22. Dear Kent,

    Your story makes me wonder if the parents were really that keen on each other or whether the ‘welcome to the club’ line, which is a great conclusion, tells more of the story than is first apparent. Loved your take on the prompt and the way you captured the voice of their generation. Do write one from Rosita’s POV. It will round things out perfectly.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hey, Doug!
      Got me thinking on that one. It seems from the feedback I have been getting, there’s just enough story there for people to read and enough to leave for the imagination. Depending on the prompt, I might do Rosita’s POV. These things seem to write themselves when I get a good suggestion from the pics. Besides, it’s too juicy to leave alone. Seems like it reads like a song more than a story —
      A ballad! That’s the word I was looking for. Yes.
      Anyway, thanks for the vote of confidence. Talk at ya later.

  23. Ha! It doesn’t often occur to children that mom and dad were young once upon a time when dinosaurs walked the earth. And yes, please, let’s round this out with Rosita’s version. For that matter, what do her parents think?

  24. rgayer55 says:

    Are we going to have a “meet the Fockers” in El Salvador? I love it, Kent.

  25. Iris says:

    I like that the parents accept the way it is going to be. Like everone else, I am definitely curious about Rosita’s perspective here. I hope it’ll knock our shoes off 😉

  26. writeondude says:

    I’m sure he loves her really, and that’s the true reason for getting married. Nice one.

Leave a Reply

