Gnarled Barkley and the Man

In memory of Roger Ebert, a Hollywood-type story.  Thanks, Scott V. for a sweet pic!

Image

“I was in The Wizard of Oz, you know.”

“What?  AGAIN with the story …???”

“The director had me throw an apple a certain way.  I did and he said, ‘What are you doing?  A tree would NEVER throw an apple like that!’  And I said, to him, “Now just how in the hell would YOU know how a tree throws an apple?”

Throwing down my book, I looked at the gnarled tree and said,  “How would you like to be CHOPPED into the BOOK version of the Wizard of Oz?”  I sat down and continued reading.

The tree sighed.  “Humans …!”

%22I'm in Oz, Auntie Em!%22
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Gnarled Barkley and the Man

  1. very cute but..
    “Now just how in the hell would YOU know how a tree sighs, ‘Humans…!” 😉

    Randy

  2. Sandra says:

    Nice one! 🙂

  3. My dear Q,
    This just might be your best. You’ve taken the tree POV to a new level. I give it two thumbs up!
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  4. elappleby says:

    Fabulous! I love Gnarled Barkley!!! Has he been in anything else?

  5. wmqcolby says:

    Let’s see … One Tree Hill, A Tree Grows In Brooklyn, The Tree Stooges, Forest Gump …
    uh, that’s about it.

  6. petrujviljoen says:

    Wow, a tree that gets around! Liked this.

  7. Cleaver, I’m still smiling. I enjoyed your entry the best. 🙂

  8. I also thought the picture looked like the tree from
    “Wizard of Oz.” I’m happy to see he’s still alive, and still every bit as annoying!

  9. Tom Poet says:

    This is my favorite from you so far. Spot on. Excellent work this week!
    Tom

  10. This was a totally unexpected twist on the tree. How did you ever come up with tht idea?

  11. jwdwrites says:

    It worked for me. Very amusing, I loved the tree that wouldn’t stop talking. 🙂

  12. rgayer55 says:

    Poor tree. I suspect it’s a weeping willow. good one, Kent.

  13. Love it. My favorite story this week. Nice dedication to Roger Ebert.

  14. vb holmes says:

    Perhaps our hero of the week could also land a bit part in Lord of the Rings? Fun story.

  15. zookyworld says:

    A fun take on the photo! The dialogue rings true on what a gnarled tree would sound like.

  16. From title to last period; funny.

  17. kz says:

    haha hilarious ^^ and i love that movie, the old one and well of course the version with james franco, nice photo too haha

  18. I missed this one. Glad I checked it out. Quite funny! I love your dialogue, in this and other stories I’ve been catching up on.

Leave a Reply

