Don’t Eat The Salad!

If you have had children, then … well, you KNOW stuff like this happens.  

Based on a true story that, once again, I couldn’t let get away, I present to you my friends.

Thanks, Claire for the pic (even though it never downloaded for me).  Thanks to YOU, Rochelle “Corn-Fields” for the look ahead.

Gwynn began the story.  “Did Gregg and I ever tell you about the time Rachael peed in the refrigerator?”

 

Gregg chimed in.  “I think she was …what?  Five, maybe?”

 

“Yes.  Used to sleep walk a lot when she was little.  Took a wrong turn, wandered into the kitchen and opened the refrigerator door.  I saw her out the corner of my eye while I was at the bookcase.”

 

This I HAD to hear!  “Did you get her in time?”

 

Gwynn laughed.  “Yup!  The door was opening and I caught her just as I saw her going for the vegetable crisper!”

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Don’t Eat The Salad!

  1. kz says:

    oh man, kids sound like horrible (yet adorable) creatures. enjoyed reading this story. ^^

  2. I would have called the police from the library and had them throw the book at the little peeing sleepwalker. I hate a veg wetter.

  3. EagleAye says:

    Sounds like the salad has a wicked dressing. Yikes! This was fun.

  4. Sandra Crook says:

    Eergh! I’ll skip the salad today. Well done.

  5. Cool story.
    Just out of the refrigerator?

  6. rgayer55 says:

    A little salty, and with a hint of ammonia. Throw in a few herbs and spices, give it a fancy French name, and sell it big city folks. Great story, Kent.

  7. billgncs says:

    That made me smile!

  8. Penny L Howe says:

    Now that’s an original take on a prompt. Great story, having raised 2 children, I can relate to their, a … creativity! Thanks, a fun read!

  9. nightlake says:

    Thankfully, they stopped her in time.. even kids don’t do things like these, do they?

  10. pviljoen says:

    Liked this story!

  11. Unusual take on the prompt, not that I haven’t peed in the salad many times too. Hasn’t everybody?

  12. rheath40 says:

    Isn’t it great when truth is funnier than fiction?

  13. Yes… reminds me… I have an eerie memory of peeing in my grandmother’s wardrobe once while sleep walking. I wonder if she ever found out.

  14. Trudy says:

    So true to life, sleepwalking children do the oddest things, but we’ve never had a fridge incident!

  15. Dear Kent,
    Good thing it’s “corn-fields” and not wheat. At least I can still eat corn. ;). My youngest son once peed in the hallway in his sleep. Fortunately he never made it to the fridge.
    As for your story for the books, I’m simultaneously laughing and cringing.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  16. Ha! Those are the kinds of stories you keep around to embarrass the kids with later, like at their wedding reception. 🙂

  17. kdillmanjones says:

    Oh the joys of parenting! Great tale.

  18. vb holmes says:

    Interesting that Rachel picked the crisper–must be something about vegetables as my sleepwalking brother headed for a ten-pound bag of potatoes when he needed relief. Makes you a little leary about eating veggies, doesn’t it?

  19. Anne Orchard says:

    The salad was saved in the nick of time! What a great, revolting tale.

  20. Joe Owens says:

    I am not sure if that would make the salad last longer or spoil. Either way I will be checking my crisper before pulling out the contents.

Leave a Reply

