Kent’s Problem

Image
 
I like writing stories based on anecdotes a lot of times, as you have read in the past.  
This one is not true.
Great photo, Danny Bowman!
Rochelle Wisoff-Fields operates this Flash Fiction store.  Please check for coupons.
 
+++++++++

“KENT!  Long time no see!”

 

Oh, great!  Always at a time like this.  “Um … hi, Reggie.”  He’ll talk about his kids and “the missus” while I’m in a hurry!  The guy annoys me, always has and just when there’s an emergency, too!  “I was just about to make a phone call …”

 

“On THAT?  Nobody uses that telephone booth anymore!”

 

Hey!  I can suck up the air around him!   Maybe that’ll knock him out.  

 

WHOOOSH!  Did it!  I’ll just hang my suit and glasses here like I always do.  That dinosaur is almost over the city skyline!  “Up, up, and away!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Kent’s Problem

  1. Penny L Howe says:

    Very cleverly done! Loved it! I wonder if Clark really did had to deal with those issues! 🙂

  2. I’ve really been wondering what Clark is going to do with fewer and fewer phone booths around.

  3. I’ve never thought about what would happen if Clark was to get interrupted on his way to change and save the world. Oops!

  4. Carrie says:

    Poor Clark! I bet some ass did interrupt him when he was trying to “make a call” 🙂

  5. Shreyank says:

    cleverly done ! loved this 🙂 long time since i watched superman!

  6. This phone booth doesn’t appear to be one of those perfect-for-Superman ones that has the closing door. Hopefully the police won’t stop to check on the report of some man taking off his clothes at the phone booth. Being a superhero isn’t easy!!

    janet

    • wmqcolby says:

      This actually was inspired by the Wizard of Id when Rodney was called before the King and the King took Rodney off his secret agent assignment dur to “sloppiness.” The King held up Rodney’s disguise and said, “Someone found these in a phone booth!”

  7. Kir Piccini says:

    MAN OF STEEL is on it’s way to theaters and so this is fun and timely.
    Poor Kent, he never gets a break. 😉

    really liked it.

  8. julespaige says:

    I am a fan of the Mr. Kent. I think now a days he’d have to slip into a dark shadow. I enjoyed the humor in this piece.

    Most Vamps aren’t like those from ‘Twilight’. I suppose after living a few hundred year they loose interest in polite niceities. But they might have the bucks to call in repair folk after their tantrums?
    Thanks for your visit.

  9. Beth Carter says:

    Very clever take on the prompt.

  10. Well, he is our favorite hero this week, huh? 🙂
    Scott

  11. rgayer55 says:

    He’s needs to take singing lessons from Stuporman. Then he could put a stop to those interruptions.

  12. Great Scott, Superman, what are you going to do?! Nice tie-in to the Man of Steel!

  13. And Superman always seemed such a nice guy too! Made me laugh!

  14. Jan Brown says:

    Funny! I love his solution, sucking up the air around his annoying acquaintance 🙂

  15. Joe Owens says:

    Technology always bites the superheroes in the end.

  16. sandraconner says:

    Terrific! What more can I say?

  17. I guess even Superman doesn’t have a super-tolerance for annoying people. 🙂 Great story.

  18. Very amusing.
    AnElephant is now practising that WHOOSH trick!

  19. Anne Orchard says:

    Fabulous fun. Oh, those pesky bystanders!

  20. Lots of fun with superman… 🙂

  21. Linda Vernon says:

    I always took Superman for the type that would hang up his clothes. Loved this! HA! 😀

  22. Sandra says:

    Original thinking – loved it. Sorry to be late.

  23. yerpirate says:

    Dear me…what must he be doing in these days of mobile phones!

Leave a Reply

