Sheitel

 

Image

It’s always a great thing to poke a little fun at culture.

On a recent trip to Israel, I got inspired to write a 100-word story series called, “Seven Days In Jerusalem.”  It is about a guy who is essentially checking up on old friends who live there.  So far, I only have three days, I’ll have to think of four more.

But, as advertised, here is Day One of “Seven Days In Jerusalem.”  Enjoy.

+++++

I spoke my best Hebrew to the passerby.  “Chaim Glicksman.  Where is he?”

The passerby spoke in English.  “Down that way.  Christian Quarter.”

Chaim saw me right in the street.  “Shalom, my friend!”

I shook his hand.  “What’s a nice Orthodox boy like you doing in the Christian Quarter?”

“Not every Jew is an Israeli, not every Israeli a Jew.”

“How is Ayelet?”

“My wife is fine, although we suffered a loss recently.  My daughter lit a shabbat candle and set Ayelet’s hair on fire accidentally.”

“That’s terrible!  Is Ayelet all right?”

“Of COURSE.  She wasn’t home at the time.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Sheitel

  1. This made me smile. Not sure whether to say “Lucky Ayelet, she was unharmed!” or “Poor, Ayelet, she forgot her hair!”

  2. vb holmes says:

    One has to wonder which was out of place–the shabbat candle or Ayelet’s hair? Or was it the daughter? Certainly couldn’t have been Ayelet–she missed out on all the excitement. Fun story.

  3. Oy vey iz mir. I’ve scorched my hair and can’t do a thing with it. Funny! Right on target.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Sandra says:

    🙂 Clever work, can hardly wait for days 2-6.

  5. draliman says:

    Nice ending! I hope Ayelet has a spare.

  6. Hilarious! Does everyone know he’s talking about a wig?

  7. I had to read it a couple of times, but when I understood, I got a big grin out of this. Ron

  8. atrm61 says:

    Ha!ha!This was a funny take;-)Hope Ayelet had a spare and that her daughter was not made to pay with her own ,in return-as punishment 😉

  9. zookyworld says:

    I also had to read this a couple of times, as I scratched my unburning head — but the extra was well worth it!

  10. I had to learn something to understand, but that’s okay — knowledge is power!

  11. annisik51 says:

    Ayelet is clearly witless as well as hairless – luckily for her! This would be great material for stand-up comedy. I like the passerby as a ‘stooge’ in the joke. 🙂

  12. kz says:

    lol 🙂 well,at least ayelet is ok and she could always get a new one 🙂

  13. Amusing and educational; how about that!

  14. sandraconner says:

    Talk about laughing out loud. I’m practically rolling in the floor here. Actually, I came over here to ask you about one of your pictures, but since I am running way behind on reading the last two batches of Friday Fictioneers stories, I thought I’d stop to read last week’s story from you while I was here. So unexpected and well done, Kent.

    Now to my question: I’m putting finishing touches on a new book (collection of short, short stories and poetry) that should come out some time next month, and I’ve just decided to include the story I did based on your picture of Gaudi’s architecture. We won’t be using a picture with every story, but this particular one could use the picture that inspired it to give it more of a punch. I need to know if you would be willing for me to use that picture in the book (giving you full credit, of course), and if you charge a fee or require anything beyond credit in that situation. Of course, if you’d prefer I not use the picture for any reason, that’s certainly okay.

    Thanks.
    Sandra

  15. wmqcolby says:

    Go for it! It’s OK.

Leave a Reply

