This Nearly Was Mine

Happy New Year, Fictioneers!  My first yarn for 2014.  Be sure to see the video at the end.

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields supplies the leadership.

Bjorn Rudberg supplied us with this terrific photo prompt.  Thanks, Bjorn!

 

 

Now … ONWARD!Image

+++++

 

Dreamer, wishy-washy, not a very ambitious single American male, I became the true love of a girl in the tropics who lived on the side of a hill. 

 

When I visited Palmerola, Honduras, Elizabeth entered the picture. She offered me real love, but I had nothing, really.

 

For two years I wrote her, visited her.  Each visit, she’d cry for me to come back. 

 

Each time, I said I didn’t know. 

 

Then, one day, she called saying she was getting married to someone else, goodbye.

 

 

I saw South Pacific on TV recently.  I threw a pillow at Rosano Brazzi.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to This Nearly Was Mine

  1. Aww, too bad! I think he should have married her.

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Time was wasted – too bad, so sorry!

  3. Sandra says:

    Nice take on the prompt. I remember that film. Went with my first boyfriend; he too is consigned to history. 🙂

  4. rgayer55 says:

    Dear Kent,
    When I read the first sentence I thought you were posting a Personal Ad. 🙂 Had it been me or Perry, we would have included “lazy” or “procrastinator” somewhere in there. It drives women wild.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hahaha! That first sentence, though, probably could have been better, seriously. And, yes, procrastinator and lazy fit the bill. Maybe in the re-write … hmmm.
      Good seeing you. I’m going to try to get to OWL this next month.

  5. I would say that laissez-faire is not always the best approach on women… I would go for Carpe Diem… (just to use some borrowed words).

  6. Dear Kent

    I know I shouldn’t laugh at his pain but hahahahahahahahahahaha. I hope it helped him to throw the pillow. 😉 Good one!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. Perry Block says:

    I don’t really know about Russell but yes “Dreamer, wishy-washy, not very ambitious, lazy, procrastinator, and expert belly button lint contemplator” would have well described me and I would have blown it with her too.

    And I have always had the hots for Mitzi Gaynor, even when she appeared with the Beatles on Ed Sullivan in 1964.

  8. vbholmes says:

    She called as opposed to writing a “Dear John” letter–sounds like a last ditch attempt to prompt you into action. I’m afraid you did, indeed, blow it. Hope another “Elizabeth” has since come into your life.

  9. kz says:

    awww 😦 the one that got away. when i read it, i did immediately feel that it was based on a real story. gotta move on, though. i wish you luck and happiness. 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      You saw through it, huh? Like they say, the fish that got away is always the biggest. It happened a long time ago, KZ, but this is why I wrote it.

      As you know, writing needs the stuff of life. If you can grab a person and make them laugh or cry, you have succeeded because you realize it is within your power to do so. Thanks for the sentiment, anyway, though. 😉

  10. Distance is not the friend of relationships! Guess he learned that the hard way. Add that to him not wanting to commit and you get…someone who marries someone else!

    janet

  11. atrm61 says:

    Ah,hopefully he will have better luck next time:-)Loved the ending 😉

Leave a Reply

