Dated

Music has been a member of my family forever.  My mom and aunt were music teachers, I graduated college with a vocal degree, my cousin is a Doctor of Music and I play many instruments.  It has never gotten me what THIS guy got.

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields is the conductor.  Check out Friday Fictioneers.

Bjorn Rudberg gave us this photo.  Nice, one, Bjorn.  Always a pleasure.

Image

 

 

My first date in ten years … and my sister constantly told me Sara was the best woman for me ever.  Sis and Sara were friends since high school and Sara was a good friend of the family.  

 

Oh yeah!  Sara with the blue eyes, blond hair and perky personality had been a real turn-on for me even before I was in high school. She got married later. I respected that marriage until it was ended by that rotten-to-the-core cheating jerk she tied herself to. 

 

So, who knew I’d be going out with my former music teacher?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Dated

  1. elmowrites says:

    Sometimes it’s all about second chances. Although I’m not sure high school dreams are always right for reality…

    • wmqcolby says:

      True. I remember when I was in high school, the wrestling coach assistant, Miss Neely, was hottie. The boys all went gaga over her. She was only two years older than the seniors.

      • elmowrites says:

        Wrestling assistant, eh? I’ll bet you all learned some moves that year! The male teachers at my school were singularly disappointing on that score, but I can certainly remember a few high school dreams I’m glad in hindsight remained dreams!

    • wmqcolby says:

      No, I was. never on the wrestling team. I was on the competitive speaking team.

      • elmowrites says:

        “Competitive Speaking” sounds like a posh phrase for what me and my husband do when he forgets to put the bins out… I should so be on that team!

  2. Dear Kent,

    Love it from the matchmaking sister to the U-turn at the end. Good job!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Yikes! How old is this former English teacher? Just wondering.

  4. Sandra says:

    It was well worth the wait then. Sisters can come in very useful as matchmakers. 🙂

  5. Jan Brown says:

    Wow, the “hot teacher” fantasy comes true! Oh if only it were so…. (Usually it comes true in only the creepiest way.)

    Well done!

  6. We have good friends who met in this same way, only in music school, not high school.

    janet

  7. This story has an almost cheeky feel to it. Only correction I might consider is the use of the word “ever” in that first sentence. I can’t decide if it really serves a purpose,.

  8. What a fantasy come true. Nicely told!

  9. K.Z. says:

    aww it’s sweet that they found each other in the end. you have a vocal degree! figures. you have a great speaking voice. (heard it from your videos in YouTube)

  10. elappleby says:

    Love the twist at the end. I didn’t see that one coming and I’m normally quite good at these things. Fun story 😀

  11. Good story and a dream come true. Wouldn’t it be great if more dreams came true. 🙂 Great twist at the end. 🙂 Well done.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Patricia. Of course, it could have gone the opposite way, too …. the dream was not all it was cracked up to be. That happens, too, sometimes. Ah, reality: what a concept.

  12. rgayer55 says:

    First date in ten years? Now, I’m feeling sorry for Sara. She’s going to have to teach you everything.

  13. Sweet tale.. and a to date a former teacher.. but I guess after 10 years that’s probably OK.

  14. Ahahaha…this made me giggle out loud!

  15. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear William, Wonderful story and enjoyable – brings back memories of High School and a life changing event for one of my friends. I hope he enjoys the music teacher and bet they will! Hey, how many grades did you flunk? Enjoy life! Nan 🙂

  16. wmqcolby says:

    Hahahaha! I’m sure that character would have flunked a couple, yes! 😀 I didn’t flunk any grades until college classes, actually. Only two. Humiliating, though, but hey! Nobody cares after you graduate, right?
    So, you REALLY had something like this happen to one of your friends? Do tell! 😀
    Thanks for reading! Glad you enjoyed it.

  17. Mousume Roy says:

    The match making sister was so right from the beginning. Nice take on the prompt.

  18. Talk about opening up memories of teacher crushes! Enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

