My Summer Vacation: Rosita

In January 23 of 2013, I wrote a story called My Summer Vacation.  On February 6 of that same year, I wrote a follow-up called Son and Fun In El Salvador.  Both were written from different viewpoints.  Now, I reveal the third and final installment.  In order that the narratives make sense, as part of my introduction, I give you the first two parts.

First, Part One:

+++

My Summer Vacation

Mom and Dad came to the wedding  — an overseas trip to an open-air house of cement bricks, tiles and a toilet that flushes with a bucket of water.

Sure, Dad could have chided me about leaving a good-paying job, never coming back from vacation from what he called, “a sweat-box with palm trees.”  I didn’t tell them what kind of work I have.  I don’t have any work. I told Mom and Dad all they REALLY needed to know:

Love happens fast in Central America — just not the part where it happened nine months ahead of schedule!

+++

Second, Part Two:

+++

My Summer Vacation:  Son and Fun In El Salvador

Naomi and I had our seats near a crying baby on the four-hour long flight to El Salvador.  I felt like crying, too.  Our Kevin, down there getting married to … what was her name?  Rosita?

“He quit!!!  That idiot left the best money he ever made …”

Naomi interrupted my rant while wrestling with her pillow.  “If I remember right, Carl, YOU were just as crazy about me as he is with Rosita.”   She paused.  “You don’t suppose …?”

“What? He knocked her up?”

“Let’s say he did.  What will YOU say?”

I thought, then sighed.  “Welcome to the club, Kevin.”

+++

So, now, this week’s photo prompt courtesy of Sandra Crook. Wonderful photo, Sandra. Reminds me of Central America where this is common.

Image

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields leads the FF Troop into the frontier.  Vamonos!

And now, the conclusion of:

My Summer Vacation:  Rosita.

+++

Walking down the aisle on my wedding day with morning sickness wasn’t the worst of my fears.  It was meeting Naomi, mother of my handsome American gringo-boy, Kevin.

Words came to my mind seeing her sitting in the sanctuary — words not allowed at La Iglesia de Guadalupe de San Salvador.  Words calling me a “prostitute” or “opportunist.”

Then the surprise came.  During the reception, Kevin’s mother approached me, took my face in her hands and kissed it.  She looked at me beaming and spoke to me with a sweet and comforting Castillian accent!

“Mi hija, bienvenida a nuestra familia.”

+++

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to My Summer Vacation: Rosita

  1. Nan Falkner says:

    Really nice story and Kevin sort of did follow the herd, in that he and Rosita repeated his parents history. Very good and I did like it – of course! Well done! Nan 🙂

  2. Dear Q,

    Sweet story. And the moral is, never judge mother in law by her blue eyes. 😉 ¡Muy bien!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Kent,

    I thought this was going to be about his girlfriend, the sheep. Thanks for dragging my mind out of the gutter.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Shandra says:

    Very Lovely. I’ve read the other parts of the story to get caught up. As I was reading I was also listening to an audio story of similar vein whose narrator said something like “The dozens of couples gone before them hidden away,(married in the ‘coat closet’ of the church rather in the main Cathedral) by shame that would last a lifetime and that they would never overcome.” Glad times have changed (at least a bit) and pulling for your Young couple in their Wedded (baby) Bliss.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Stuff like this happens all the time in Latin America but, it also depends on the families, regions or the communities. In small towns (probably where this story takes place) things are pretty contained. Glad you liked the stories. Thanks for reading!

  5. Amy Reese says:

    Ah, these things happen…Over and over. It’s a funny thing. Great story, Kent!

  6. subroto says:

    Nice, a three part story with a long gestation period. A welcome to the Sheep farm for Rosita.

  7. Lovely story. Do not think negative things! Well-written. 🙂

    – Matthew

  8. rgayer55 says:

    I like the different points of view each snippet provides. You need one more to complete the family circle.

  9. Thanks for putting the first 2 stories before this week’s. Telling the tale from three points of view is a great way to get the whole story down.

    • wmqcolby says:

      It really didn’t start out that way, it was just a good idea at the time. Sometimes I might be able to wring a fresh story out if it seems to have some kind of traction.

      Thanks for reading!

  10. elappleby says:

    Like father , like son then? How sweet! I really enjoyed this story (all three parts) and I’m not usually a fan of sequels in Friday Fiction. I wonder if there will be more. Maybe the baby could grow up and turn his back on family traditions by getting married first, then getting her pregnant – now there’s a twist!!!
    🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      Well, ya know, El … it might be a possibility. A sweet story INDEED! Gives me CHILLS!

      Now, in all seriousness (although, with you I hesitate to say that, haha!) Russell had suggested one more story to round it out. I’d say three is enough, BUT maybe FIVE is better. Like comedy, the jokes come in odd numbers like 3’s, 5’s and 7’s. Sometimes four, but that’s reserved for something else. Thoughts?

      • elappleby says:

        Five? Not sure about that. Baby could be four, but who’d be the POV for the fifth? Maybe the toilet from story 1????

      • wmqcolby says:

        “Here I am, just a cement enclosed seat with no toilet papers — stupid tourists think it’s FREE around here.” That’ll fly. Hahahaha!

  11. Sandra says:

    Nice work this Kent, I enjoyed the tripartite POV. Well done.

  12. The series is great… just great, and I for sure remember the second installment…

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yes! I remember your interest in it. In fact, Bjorn, you made a comment on one story of mine that I still remember to this day above ALL of the comments I have gotten on stories of mine. It was Such Is Life (C’est la vie). I crack up to this day — “… at least he got to see the goodies.” Hilarious!

  13. Kent, All three stories were very good and I enjoyed them all. I especially liked the part where the boy’s mother was Spanish. That was a great twist. 🙂 —Susan

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks! I thought, at first, the Spanish mom would be rather stuck up making another complication, but no. Why not have someone nice for a change?

  14. I loved the three points of view and am happy that Rosita got a pleasant surprise 🙂

  15. wmqcolby says:

    Yeah, it was a lot of fun to write, too. One of my better, earlier triumphs. Thanks for your interest, Claire. 🙂

Leave a Reply

