Occidentally Yours

Hi, Fictioneers!  I have been gone a few weeks learning how to write movie scripts and lived to tell about it.  It was a great experience, something I’m hoping to repeat one of these days.

Now, concerning this story:  not everybody in the world knows everything, even when you’d think you’d expect them to.  Such is the case of this nice, young, but inexperienced man and his girlfriend, Noriko.

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, head of the wait-staff, will be hosting you this evening.

Marie Gail Stratford has plated a most wonderful photo prompt.   Thank-you, Marie Gail.

Chopsticks

+++++

I felt like a fool when we entered the restaurant.  Noriko would no doubt have to help me learn how to eat.

“Noriko, I have been in many countries, traveled all over and I just don’t know how to use these utensils.”

Her dainty, soft and tiny porcelain hands took mine.  “First, you take the thumb and hold it this way.  Now, you use the two fingers thusly.  There. See how easy?”

The waiter approached. “Orders, folks?”

“A KC strip, please.  Akioshi?”

“The same, please.” I looked at her.  “In appreciation for the lesson on how to hold a fork.”

++++++

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Occidentally Yours

  1. Delightful twist. I cracked up at the KC strip!

  2. Ellespeth says:

    I certainly wasn’t expecting this 😛 I’m still chuckling…
    Ellespeth

  3. elmowrites says:

    What does it say about me that I misread that as KFC strip first time round?! That gave the story a whole extra twist, I can assure you. I like the way you make us challenge our expectations though, and welcome back to the FF fold.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hahaha! KFC strip, huh? That IS pretty funny. The Kansas City strip is similar to the New York Strip steak. It’s REALLY good! Medium rare is the way I like it, so does Rochelle. Thanks for the nice words. I hope I don’t disappoint.

  4. camgal says:

    Cracked up is the right phrase 🙂

  5. Good job of turning our expectations on their heads, Kent!

    janet

  6. I like when folks think outside of the chopstick paper wrapping.
    It’s about tine.
    Nice one. Randy

  7. Nice change-up! Took me a while to figure out KC strip too.

  8. Dear Kent,

    No problem figuring out the KC strip here. Make mine rare please. It would be very hard to cut it with chopsticks. Love the twist. It’s what’s for dinner. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Sandra says:

    Could take all evening to eat that steak… Nice one.

  10. K.Z. says:

    lol loved the twist 🙂 and movie scripts.. wow kent, that’s awesome. 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, KZ. Yes, it was awesome! The guy who teaches the screenwriting course at UCLA (which is really tough to get into) taught it. He lives just three hours from where I live.

  11. Kent, Welcome back! Good story, humorous, and well written. Great twist at the end. 🙂 —Susan

  12. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Kent, good story and funny too! Thanks for the read! Nan 🙂

  13. I’m with the crowd on this one… comes from weighing in late… fun twists all around!

  14. I always say “Ain’t nobody born with the knowledge” ha…great twist Ken and nice to “see” you back. I’ve been wondering….

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yeah, good to be back. I might just have another story for next week, too. Thanks for stopping by. Wish I could offer you some coffee, but …

  15. rgayer55 says:

    Someone would have to teach me that too. We only have one spoon and have to take turns using it. Thanks for the laugh, Kent.

  16. And now you’ve left me craving for some Chinese food too!
    I’m glad you ended that way, it lifted the spirit of the entire post. Are you awesome or, are you awesome ?

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hahaha! It DOES make people hungry! Good thing I ate before I answered.

      Thanks for your kind words and for stopping by, Soumyaa! Keep on writing!

  17. Sarah Ann says:

    Lovely set up toa very funny twist. 🙂

Leave a Reply

