Fire and Water

Photo by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who is also the Friday Fictioneer Chairwoman of the Board.

Campfire

As we know, provided there’s an adequate amount, water puts out fire.

In this case, water increased the fire and the fire was put out by something else.

+++++

The sound of running water.

Jake stepped into the shower and wrapped his arms around his beautiful bride of three weeks.

More running water.

Laura’s hot, soapy skin caressed him as he turned her around, raised her arms above her head by the wrists, and pressed her against the tiles.  Hot water cascaded between them. His breathing got heavier, passion and ecstasy about to burst.

A trickle and two splashes.

Awww …. NO!

A tiny girl’s voice emanated from the other side of the shower curtain. “Daddy, wipe me. I’m finished.”

Even newly married, the life of a single dad continued.

+++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Fire and Water

  1. Hahahahaha! This was great!

  2. Nice! Can’t avoid certain responsibilities. Well done.

  3. This made me laugh. Especially the “content” of the interruption. Well done!

  4. You know what they say, Kent. Stuff happens. 🙂 Good one.

    janet

  5. K.Z. says:

    lol so funny 🙂 laughed at the trickling sound and the two splashes.

    • wmqcolby says:

      I think it has everything a guy could ask for — sex, bodily functions and failure. Glad you liked it, KZ. Like I said, it seems like this was your department at one time. Thanks for reading.

  6. Mike says:

    You got to LOVE those moments.

  7. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Kent, Gee, I have the ‘vapors’ I need to cool off – great story and it is so flippin funny and who hasn’t had this happen at some time if you have kids. This is great writing! Really, it is! Nan 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Nan! That’s very nice of you to say that. I’m sure there are a lot of couples who can relate to being “walked in on” by their kids.
      As for this particular foray into something rather personal, it was difficult to write, knowing my G-rated material. It is what it is.

  8. Dear Kent,

    Daaaaaaaaaddddy, buy me an ice cream cone. .Daaaaaaaddddddddy….je je je.
    Ya feel pretty swell, dontcha, Daddy?

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelly

    • wmqcolby says:

      OMG. That’s a disturbing idea.
      “Ohhhh … SNOOKS! Can’t you see I’m trying to get laid here?” Gee, THAT would have gone over in the old radio days, huh? That, and the trickle and two splashes (I’ll have mine on the rocks). Wildest programming concept since Flipper got a hickey.

  9. Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

  10. elmowrites says:

    Brilliant stuff, from the build up to the let down! This is you writing at your best.
    I have a ouple of small questions, first whether he’s still a single dad once he’s married (although I can understand he’d feel that way, and it’s a good way to give us the backstory, so I don’t really know why I’m mentioning that…) and second do you mean pique? Or peak? I always thought pique meant something else, but what do I know.

    There now, the length of my concrit has exceeded that of my praise. Don’t let that fool you – overall reaction is still a round of applause!

    • wmqcolby says:

      Now, Jen, you KNOW your comments are ALWAYS invited and considered. 🙂 You’re one of the few people of which I can actually have an intelligent conversation on this subject. You’d make a terrific editor! 😉

      Let’s start with the first thing.

      You pretty much have it. The single dad reference just simply means that, even though he’s married now, that single father mentality still remains with him and the little girl (whom I thought of as about two or three years old). So, adjustments are coming soon with a new wife and mom. We just now read about it. He must be a pretty special guy to raise a daughter on his own (I envisioned him widowed) and the woman, who is his new wife, probably doesn’t take issue with him having a little girl. Well, the story doesn’t indicate it either way, really.

      I’m like you. I always thought it was spelled “peaked.” But, according to the New Oxford American Dictionary, “piqued” has really three definitions. I used the first one which is “to stimulate” as in curiosity. The “peaked” definitions really didn’t have that sort of meaning at all. Granted, it had a similar meaning, only it is used more as a noun/adjective rather than a verb. “Piqued” also means, as you and I know, a small fit of anger. Also, pride in oneself. So, yeah, I’m with you there.

      Thank-you again, for your vote of confidence. It was difficult to write that middle paragraph because it had to be a certain way without sounding trashy, ridiculous, trite, pandering, raunchy, etc. It was also embarrassing because it’s out of my comfort zone and I’m pretty much a G-rated guy in my writings. So, don’t show this to grand-mama!!! 😀

  11. Not how I wanted it to finish (blushing)…Great writing. 😀

  12. Hah, I remember those moments – the wiping, not the passion-shower!

  13. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Enjoyed reading your post! I don’t have kids of my own, but I can very well imagine the situation. 🙂

  14. helenmidgley says:

    Ha ha ha, haven’t we all been there. Not in your shower obviously but you know what I mean 😉

  15. Melanie says:

    It won’t be the last time. Kids have a knack for interrupting at the worst possible moments. 🙂

  16. rgayer55 says:

    Sometime I’ll have to tell you the story of our 12 yr old son and his buddy hiding a baby monitor in our room and listening in. Oh, I see . . . you’ve already heard it.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hahahahaha!
      Ohhhh OUCH, Russell! Not a good thing. This isn’t something I ordinarily write, but, like I said, it’s everything a guy could ask for … sex and bodily functions. All that’s missing is the ballgame and the beer, right?

  17. Great piece of writing Kent. I was totally swept along with the passion … and laughed so much at the interruption. I can imagine the little girl revealing at the most inappropriate time that Daddy was in the shower with new Mommy 😮

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yeah, in fact, I thought of what the conversation might be like where the girl is wondering how come she can’t do like daddy is doing and he says something like, “Because you’re old enough to take one on your own.” And she would say something like, “She’s older than I am!” etc., etc. Quite a predicament, but hey. That’s the joy of parenting for you.

  18. Kent, The interruption was hilarious. I remember the time a pair of little twins were visiting their grandparents near where I lived, and described in all innocence, to all in the neighborhood within hearing distance, what their dad looked like naked. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    • wmqcolby says:

      Really??? hahaha! Oh, boy! Kids … what would our world be like without them?

      The inspiration for that interruption came from an interview with Mike Farrell who played B.J. Hunnicutt on M*A*S*H. During the interview, his daughter, who was probably three or four at the time, interrupted the questioning and said, “Daddy, I’m finished pooping. Wipe me!” I thought, “Perfect!” 😀

      Thanks for reading, Susan! 🙂

  19. BrainRants says:

    The good thing is, they eventually go to sleep. Nicely done.

  20. Dee says:

    Brilliant Kent, one of your best…

  21. Quick, wipe your child’s butt, put her to bed, get her a glass of water, tell her a story, and jump back into the shower to get down to the real business of the newlywed game – before the hot water runs out and your new wife either runs out, falls asleep and/or drowns.

    Randy

  22. shanx says:

    haha! Hilarious interruption and timing couldn’t be better 😀 Good one! (makes me want to read your usual now that this out-of-comfort-zone was so good) Best Wishes.

  23. Funny, funny story. Really fooled me as I was about to send away for the video of the shower scene!

  24. Amy Reese says:

    Wipe me. Yeah, that kind of spoils the mood all right. So funny, Kent, but very realistic. Well, I wouldn’t know about the steamy shower scene….ha ha.

  25. A bi-polar love story; hot then cold. Phew!

  26. Now that was a twist I didn’t expect! Hot romance, water, and bodily functions in just 100 words. Very funny!

  27. plaridel says:

    nothing to fret about. it was a just case of bad timing. there’d be more intriguing opportunities to look forward to, 🙂

  28. Why Kent, are you… steamy. 😉 And very funny.

  29. Sandra says:

    Well I’d say you visited both ends of the spectrum here Kent! 🙂 Good stuff!

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Sandra. It was a little … OK, VERY uncomfortable to write that second paragraph. Very difficult, too, because I didn’t want it to sound trite or trashy. The kid stuff was easy. I wonder why? 😉

Leave a Reply

