Stood Up?

Bottles-Marie Gail Stratford

I’ve been stood up on a date many times and it’s very disheartening and disappointing..  I’m always grateful for the wait staff who come to my aid in the form of moral support and plenty of water.

John had a similar problem.  Temporarily.

Chef Rochelle is the gastronomic leader of the FF blog.  She’s got some tasty stories.

Marie Gail Stratford brought the wine and the photo.

+++++

John’s blind date never arrived.  He waited in his favorite restaurant for one hour and 55 minutes, five glasses of water and three breadsticks.

Julie, his favorite waitress, saw his doleful look.  “Maybe her phone didn’t charge.  More breadsticks?  More water?”

“No thanks, Julie.  I’ll give her fifteen more minutes.  After that, I’m going home.”

“My shift’s over now.  I’ll have Brandon see to you, OK?”

“OK.  Have a good night.”

Fifteen minutes later, Julie emerged from the kitchen spiffed, dressed splendidly and drop dead gorgeous.  She sat down by the stunned John.  “Sorry, I’m late.  I had to work.”

+++++++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Stood Up?

  1. Sandra says:

    Very clever! Made me smile.

  2. Dear Kent,

    A blind date of gastronomical proportions I’d say. I’d say Julie’s full of surprises and there will be more or them for John. Sweet story. I love a happy ending.

    Shalom,

    Cousin Shelly

  3. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Kent,

    One of your best stories ever. Heartfelt and happy, the ending was perfect. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. wildbilbo says:

    I laughed at the end. Nice lead in to the pleasant surprise. Great stuff .
    Cheers
    KT

  5. Love it. Good thing he stayed. And the wonderful Julie …!

  6. This story leaves one with such a good feeling about humankind and human kindness. Well done.

  7. Ha… such fun.. and being fed breadsticks while waiting.. I think it will have a prominent place in Julie and John’s future diet

  8. Oh, very good, Kent. I like your description of the time he waited and how it all ended (although you’d think she could have made the time for when she got off!) Love the use of “doleful” and I agree with Doug that this is one of your better stories.

    janet

  9. If she was supposed to be his blind date who made him wait 2 hours – I love her and kill her.
    Randy

  10. What a great twist! Hope they have a great time.

  11. I hope Julie’s generosity blossoms into romance.
    I like romance 🙂

  12. I love the about-face at the end! Elegantly done! The whole story brought a smile to my face.

  13. margirene says:

    She was testing his patience. Nothing worse than a man who can’t wait.
    Marg

  14. subroto says:

    But did he leave a good tip?

  15. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Kent, I love this story – it’s awesome and what an ending! Excellent and I’m smiling! Nan 🙂

  16. hafong says:

    A great story! Love could ensue.

    Lily

  17. Amy Reese says:

    Ha! What a surprise ending, Kent. Very clever.

  18. K.Z. says:

    awww what a cute story! i love it… and how sweet of him to wait.

  19. What a sweet story, really loved it!

  20. rgayer55 says:

    What a patient guy. That’s a long time to wait for a blind date. I’m glad it turned out well for him (and her). He sounds like that kind of guy who would even go shopping (gag) with a woman.

  21. Kent, What a great happy ending! That story had enough humor to make it interesting. It even had some dramatic tension. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

Leave a Reply

