Serendipity

 

Well, for some reason, the pic didn’t download.  Sorry about that.  😦

Anyway, Randy Mazie’s photo had all the elements of a memorable story that happened to me, in real life, while I was at grad school.  What you’ll read is just the way it happened.  Sadly, it had to be shortened, but it’s still pretty funny.

Headmistress Rochelle is the guiding force of the FF blog.

+++++

I hopped on my bicycle and sped across the campus to the library.

Approaching the building, I saw the art students all seated in the grass with their sketchbooks.  My friend, An Nguyen, waved to me and sketched as I dismounted and parked.

Books in hand, I hopped back on my bike and started off.  Another cyclist zoomed toward me.  BOOM!  Books flew everywhere, I hit the ground, he the pavement.  We brushed each other off and he sped away.  Before I left, I saw An smiling.

She tapped on her sketchbook. “Don’t worry.  I got it all RIGHT HERE!”

+++++

Scroll down to see a music video in my last entry!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Serendipity

  1. Sandra says:

    A speedy artist then. She’ll go far! 🙂

  2. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! Indeed. She is married and has (almost) grown children now. I don’t know whether she continued with the art or not. This was some 21 years ago. OUCH!

  3. That made me smile. A nice retort from your friend. 🙂
    -HA

  4. Nothing is better than a real story.. was the sketch enough to catch the culprit?– I guess not… Today there would have been a photo 🙂

  5. Wow, that’s terrific! A talented artist and funny. Glad you had that accident.

  6. Amusing story. And enjoyable read. I’m still smiling 🙂

  7. where is the music video?

    BTW – with a friend like that sketching a collision, who needs enemies? Reminds me of the moral dilemma that we’re facing today that when something bad happens, the media are too busy taking pictures rather than helping. Of course, a bicycle collision does not rise to that level, but still…

    • wmqcolby says:

      The music video is posted on my previous post. Just scroll down, but you gotta get out of the comments section first. Let me know what you think.
      Yeah, a bike doesn’t rise to that level, you’re right, Randy. When it happened, I thought we were going to sue each other, though! Never did. Whew!

  8. Dear Graceful,

    I’d love to see that sketch. Well presented story. Glad there were no lasting injuries other than injured pride.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shellie

    • wmqcolby says:

      Ehhh, not so much. At that point in my life I was happy to be doing what I was doing at CMSU. I hated to leave and, yeah, I gave the art students a good laugh. It was fun, actually. In fact, I miss An and all those great kids I knew. A couple of them I’m friends with on Fb.

  9. Oh, that must have hurt. Nice little retelling of the past.

  10. Good for her. Hope it was realistic enough to be used in evidence.

  11. Always good to have an audience… not! What a scent, Kent!

  12. I love that the artist’s reaction was to keep drawing

  13. rgayer55 says:

    She must have a fast pencil. I want to see the one where she waved and drew and the same time while he dismounted, talk about multi-tasking.

  14. Delightful look into your past. Ah . . . sometimes (and I go mean sometimes) it would be great to revisit some of those scenes. Thanks for sharing.

  15. plaridel says:

    a well-written story. truly enjoyed it.

  16. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Kent,

    The lost art of art to the rescue. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  17. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Kent, How clever to have a friend there to take a REAL picture of the hit and run cyclist. Wow, the nerve of some people. I hope they took his two wheel license away and made him retake parallel parking to get a new one. Very cute and clever – the best stories are the weirdest ones and are usually true! Great job! Nan 🙂

  18. wmqcolby says:

    Oh, it was OK. Good-natured fun! The folks in Warrensburg were very nice. I actually felt sorry for the guy because he fell down on the sidewalk. My bike got ruined, though, on the front wheel. Oh well …
    Thanks for reading, Nan!

  19. Kent, Funny story. 😀 It’s great neither of you was hurt. You probably should have been made a gift of that sketch. At least it didn’t end up in the college yearbook. Well written. 🙂 — Susan

    • wmqcolby says:

      You know, I bought from her a watercolor she made with a white textured card and blew the paint through a straw. She said it took her a few tries, but it came out beautifully. I paid her for the framing and gave it to my mom for Mother’s Day.

  20. subroto says:

    Had it happened now, twenty people would have snapped it on their phone and uploaded to facebook and youtube. It could have gone viral and made you (in)famous. Aren’t you lucky it happened then. Do you still have the sketch?

  21. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! She was kidding, of course, about the sketch. And, yes, I can see myself being uploaded a lot. Hard to believe we didn’t have that technology back then.

Leave a Reply

