Globe-al Disaster

Keck

Yeah, folks, I’m back for today.  Not much inspiration has been happening for me as of late but I always think about you all and miss you very much.

You’ll have to put your thinking caps on for this one.  It’s for buffs only.

Thank-you, Doug, for this awesome picture!

Rochelle’s book , Please Say Kaddish For Me will be sold on May 8, by the way.  Pre-orders are being taken now.

After reading this, stay tuned for her book trailer.  Like they say in Italian, “You gonna LOVE it!”

+++++

“How’s it looking out there?”

“Storms to the south … uh-oh.”

“Don’t like the sound of that.”

“Earthquake about to hit …”

BOOM!  Pieces of observatory crashed as the heavens opened up to waves of water pouring down on top of them.  Snow whipped up at every shake.

“Run!  Now!”

The sky crashed down knocking over the observatory and even the tiny cabin that had been their post.

Escaping through the remains of glass, their feet hit the wood floor of Xanadu as they ran across the mansion’s hallway, almost stomped on by the passing nurse.  A booming voice followed.

“Rosebud …”

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Globe-al Disaster

  1. Sandra says:

    No idea about the punchline at all Kent. (My heart sank when I saw the word ‘buff’) But it’s lovely to see you back on here; I was wondering only the other day what had happened to you. Welcome – hope to see you again on here soon.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hey, Sandra, thanks a lot. It’s a pleasure to be here and see your wonderful writing again, too! It’s from the opening of the movie Citizen Kane (1940) where a dying Charles Foster Kane (played by Orson Welles) drops a snow globe from his hand and it breaks. I was wondering how the people inside it felt when it hit the floor and shattered.

  2. Jan Brown says:

    “Rosebud” is a clear giveaway, but that’s about all I know of the movie. I had to look it up on Wikipedia to figure out the snow globe reference…clever description of what must have seemed like an earthquake to “inhabitants” of the snow globe. Also, clever story title! Unique interpretation of the prompt 🙂

  3. draliman says:

    I Googled “Xanadu Rosebud” and it came back with “Citizen Kane” so I read the synopsis. Are these guys in the snow globe maybe, and your story recounts what happens when the guy drops it? They’re in a spot of bother, anyway!

    • wmqcolby says:

      You are correct! Rochelle had suggested I post a video of it, but I decided not to. I didn’t want to get in the habit of posting videos every time an explanation was needed for a story. Let you folks have all the fun. Looks like you did, too! 😉

  4. Dear Kent,

    I had to go to You Tube and watch the scene from Citizen Kane. A bit of esoterica this week, but a good one nonetheless. 😉

    Thanks a million for the trailer. It’s getting rave reviews. May the book do as well. And all say Omayn.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelly

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hahaha! Yes, indeed.
      It’s a beautifully done opening to Citizen Kane. I just didn’t want to post videos all the time if a story needed an explanation. Not that I won’t in the future, though, I just don’t want to make it a habit, you know?

  5. Clever story. I shall have to revisit the dvd I have.
    Lovely trailer for Rochelle.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Citizen Kane is always rated as the all-time best movie ever. Second is Casablanca. Always ends up on lists that way.
      Thanks for liking the trailer, Patrick! We’re about to hit a marketing frenzy soon and we need all the cleverness we can get.

  6. Very clever. Great slide show for your cuz. Glad to see you back.

  7. Ah.. Xanadu and Rosebud was clever hints..I assume that the association is the the snow-globe rolling from Mr Kane’s dying hand, I can imagine being inside (does this make me a buff?)

    I actually wrote a poem a while ago on this film
    https://brudberg.wordpress.com/2013/09/14/rosebud-dverse-poetics/

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yes, you are right. The snow globe had a “globe-al” disaster.

      Bjorn, I got to tell you I really liked that poem you linked to me. Good thoughts realized and some stuff I didn’t really think about. Best I have heard so far on the subject of Citizen Kane, undoubtedly more will be written about this masterpiece of a film. Thanks!

  8. subroto says:

    I need to revisit the movie, I saw it too young, this time I feel I will have a greater appreciation of it. And you have recreated the scene perfectly. Also loved the trailer you did for Rochelle’s book.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thank-you, Sub! It’s really a great movie, although, I think, in many ways, it gets too overrated. Casablanca? Now THAT’S a tight movie. But, I DO like Kane, I just think it gets too much attention at times.

      Get Rochelle’s book!!!! It’s brilliant! I know, I have read it and I’m not a novel reader.

  9. Dee says:

    So good to see you back here Kent, I’ve missed you. Got the Citizen Kane link straight away, one of my favourite films, well done.

  10. plaridel says:

    this is deep. 🙂

  11. Dale says:

    I need to see the movie again (as I don’t remember that scene – d’oh!) and am very happy you explained it. What a fabulous take on the prompt! (if I were more of a buff, I would have picked up on it tout de suite!)

  12. Kent, welcome back; I’ve missed you! What a treat to have your story and your fabulous book video– excellent job!! I really like the idea of the snow globe. The image itself is a bit like many globes lined up… nice job!

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hi, Dawn! missed you and everybody else, too. Thanks for the kind words. Of course, The Queen keeps me informed of the doings of our FF friends. This story idea was just something that came to mind and made me laugh. Considering the people involved at FF Headquarters — no surprise. 😉 I’ll be around. Great seeing you!

  13. rgayer55 says:

    I got the drift that they were tiny in comparison to the rest of the world, but not the snow globe part until I read the comments. Very clever use of the prompt. Great job on the book trailer too.

Leave a Reply

