Batteries In A Jar

[photo by Sean Fallon]

“I got tired of her leaving things lying around, so I put them in her best cookie jar.”

Now, I heard everything — batteries in a cookie jar.  “You have a death wish, Stan?”

“Rick, it’s two years of marriage.  She never listens, never learns.”

“You didn’t grow up with her, either.  She’ll go ballistic.  Nobody, but NOBODY messes with her cookie jars.”

“Oh, come on, Rick, what’s the worst she’d do?”

I picked up two golf balls from under the cupboard.  “These belong to you?”  He nodded and I placed them in his hand.  “Take the hint, junior.  Got it?”

copyight-sean-fallon.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Batteries In A Jar

  1. Ouch… it took a while… but now I cross my legs.. and run to remove the batteries from the cookie jar… No there are borders you cannot cross.. Such fun to see you back.

  2. Haha! Ouch, indeed! The husband learns from the brother? That was a good story!

  3. subroto says:

    Ouch! Right away let me do that before writing further. Done! Order has been restored in the world. Nice one.

  4. rgayer55 says:

    Sounds painful. He’s lucky to have a brother in-law who thinks enough of him to save his balls.

  5. Dear Cuzzin Kent,

    Why am I thinking of Winnie Palmer on the Tonight Show at this moment? Fun to rerun.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelly

  6. d3athlily says:

    Hahah great take on the prompt. I might have cringed and crossed my legs despite being a lady. Hehe

  7. 😀 quite funny. Definitely Stan would hurry up to empty the cookie jar before his wife founds out !

  8. Margaret says:

    I’d like to meet a husband who picks up after his wife. I’ve never heard of such a creature. Fun story.

  9. This story made ME cross my legs. So good to see you back!

  10. plaridel says:

    listen to the voice of experience. that’s all i can say about it. 🙂

  11. draliman says:

    Yeeks! I hope he gets the batteries shifted and the jars properly cleaned before she notices…

  12. Michael says:

    A warning to all the chaps out there, think before you mess with her

  13. Amy Reese says:

    I had to Google the Winnie Palmer Tonight show appearance. Hahahaha!
    Very funny, story! I think he’ll be taking all those batteries out right quick. Great to see you again, Kent. I missed you!

  14. Sandra says:

    Ouch! Back with some vengeance. How perfectly lovely to see you on here again. You’ve been missed.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Awww. Thanks, Sandra. I never forget any of our Fictioneers. Missed you. too.
      We’ll see how this goes. I need to see how my writing tools are doing.

  15. Could a threat be any clearer? Nice job, Kent! Welcome back!!

  16. gahlearner says:

    Very scary threat. Maybe he should spend some time to really get to know his wife.

  17. Welcome back, Kent. Good story. It’s fortunate he has a brother-in-law to give him good advice. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

