I Saw It!

Rochelle runs the blog.

C.E. Ayr gave us the photo.  Be well, my friend!

The girl and the date do and did exist, respectively, the rest is fiction.

It’s an old joke, but I thought it a good exercise for those of you with the more “sophisticated” tastes.   This story first appeared on March 13, 2013, but has been re-written.  I prefer this version better.

arena.jpg

IMPORTANT:  The last three words of the story are in Spanish.  The translation of them is the actual title of this story.

+++++

My last trip to Spain won me a date with Alicia, an actress-model I had been trying to go out with a long time.

We walked arm in arm through the dark streets, like in the movies!

Pigeons flew from the ground, almost on cue.

I turned to kiss her lovely face.

A pigeon swooped down, pooped a nasty on my white pants.

Startled, I spun around, knocked Alicia into a fountain. Her skirt flew over her head … and “Victoria” shared ALL her “secrets!”

“C’est la vie,” I said.

She slapped me.  She thought I said, “Se la ví.”  

+++++

Yup, this is the genuine article, folks.  We’re friends still and I know she’d get a big kick out of this story, since she is an actress as well.

Alicia D.  and Me.jpgModel Alicia.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to I Saw It!

  1. neilmacdon says:

    That brought a wry smile to my face. Well done!

  2. Querido Kentazo,

    Mas y mas. This gets funnier every time I read it. I give it five coins in the fountain.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelly

    • wmqcolby says:

      Probably because she lost some pocket change. There is a huge fountain in the center of BCN plus lotsa pigeons. I’m sure it’s not the first time. 😀

  3. I love it, Kent! That was both funny and romantic. So sad that you got slapped – dang these similar-sounding Romance languages!

  4. Giggle giggle giggle!
    Cutely funny!
    Laughter of life!

  5. mike says:

    Nasty pigeon causing such a upset; but then came a smile after the explanation, and a great tale to recall.

  6. hafong says:

    Gave me a great big laugh. Thanks a bunch! I really needed it.

    Lily

  7. Oh, that was fun!
    Great pictures as well.

  8. helenmidgley says:

    Another laugh out louder, fab 🙂

  9. paulmclem says:

    Sounds too funny to be true….but I’ll believe you…lol.

  10. Oh dear,
    this was rather very entertaining.
    🙂 hehehehe

  11. wmqcolby says:

    Glad you thought so. My exploits with the ladies usually lend themselves to humor or comedy … for SOME strange reason. 😦

  12. Dale says:

    Oh my! I can just picture the whole scene too! Well done, Kent! Guffaw!

  13. draliman says:

    Ha, funny! That’ll teach “your character” not to speak French in Spain 🙂
    I liked your “Roman Holiday” build-up.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hahahaha! I guess so.
      Roman Holiday, huh? I have never seen that movie. I need to see it now! I’m a big Gregory Peck fan. And Audrey is genuine class.

  14. Made me laugh. I guess Victoria doesn’t think sharing her secrets is funny… Nor does Alicia. A girl needs a sense of humor.

    • wmqcolby says:

      You know, I kept thinking about this — it’s such a Three Stooges or Laurel and Hardy moment. In real life, I’m sure Alicia would have laughed. But, no she didn’t fall into the fountain and no birds swooped down. Just a neat night for someone like myself who doesn’t get to experience something special like that in everyday life. In fact, throughout that whole trip, I felt like Hemingway — I even frequented the coffee shop he did (so I was told).

  15. gahlearner says:

    Heheh, thanks for the laughter. This was cute, romantic, and plain old fun. And lovely pictures.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yes, she does take a fabulous picture. Unfortunately, her health is not the greatest these days with Crohn’s Disease and the fact she smokes. But, she’s still a dear friend and I hope only good things for her.

  16. Oh my, this was hilarious!!!! Loved it!!!

  17. Lynn Love says:

    What a great story! Lots of fun and very entertaining .Nicely done

  18. Ha ha. Well described.

    • wmqcolby says:

      I can’t remember my original line other than it being very boring. Rochelle came up with the Victoria and her Secrets line and I adjusted it. Plays much better.

  19. plaridel says:

    consider yourself lucky. a slap can be a sign of affection. besides, with such a beauty, i won’t mind being slapped over and over again to make sure i’m awake and not just dreaming. 🙂

  20. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! Indeed. A sign of affection, huh? Something to consider, of course.

  21. ansumani says:

    It’s better to mix up the languages and get slapped than mixing up the girl-firend’s names and getting really slapped 🙂

    Cute and funny story. Enjoyed reading this…

    P.S. I suspect that you photo-bombed when someone was taking a picture of Alicia 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      HAHAHAHAHA! Yeah, that mixing up of names can be a killer! That guy in the back was a friend of hers, named Jordi. I think he had a little too much tipping of the elbow that night.

      • Jan Brown says:

        Haha! I was wondering about the photo-bomber, too 🙂

      • wmqcolby says:

        I have a pic of me with the Hennessy Girls (Hennessy had sponsored the event), but the guys kept wanting to be in the shot, kept wandering into my picture pose. So, I let them have their fun, got a picture of all of us. THEN I said, “No, just myself and them this time.” Got the shot and had a wonderful picture with my “guys-eat-your-hearts-out” smile. 🙂

  22. Jan Brown says:

    Very funny! I’m glad you finally got your sought-after date. She’s quite beautiful!

    • wmqcolby says:

      She is, although, the real story is, I met her accidentally through a friend of a friend. It was my first trip to anywhere on the other side of the globe, I went to visit a friend. Met her that night, then saw her again a few days later. THEN, I asked her out. Had a nice time. We still correspond.

  23. Gee, I wish I saw it! Very funny, you cunning linguist!

  24. A multilingual play on words! Thanks for sharing this with us!

  25. athling2001 says:

    Great story bringing smiles instead of tears.

  26. luckyjc007 says:

    Funny, although I’m quite sure it was not funny at the time. But, look what it brought…a great story for your blog and shared laughter. Things happen for a reason…this if one I guess.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Charles Schulz was asked why Charlie Brown never won a ball game and he said that winning is fun and it’s neat … but failure is hilarious. In actuality, no one fell in a fountain, no birds did a major gruntie on my slacks and I didn’t say anything embarrassing enough to get my face slapped. The actual date was very successful.

      It wasn’t hilarious in real life, so I made the rest up. It worked! 😀

  27. rosemawrites says:

    funny and romantic! 😀

  28. This was new to me, Kent, so really amusing. The misunderstandings that can happen when you don’t have a perfect grasp of the language. Well done. 😀 — Suzanne

    • wmqcolby says:

      Well, thank-you very much, Suzanne. Like I said in the intro, I prefer this version because I rewrote it and it came out better. If you’d like to see the original, it’s on my blog page. I believe in repurposing content. 😉

  29. Margaret says:

    Very funny. He didn’t get his kiss – a slap instead.

  30. wmqcolby says:

    Yup! If it had been a success, it would have been a boring story.

  31. Amy Reese says:

    Ooh la la. A very romantic, sexy story, Kent. Except for the slapping part. 🙂 Oh, and the pigeon poop. A fun story, nicely written. I give it five out of five sexy panties.

Leave a Reply

