Well, An Order IS An Order …

Due to the wonderfully tremendous response I got from you folks on the ”antics” (to put it mildly) of my late uncle, Oscar Moss, I thought it appropriate to tell another one.  Again, a true story.

Rochelle’s the blogomeistress, Piya Singh, the photo contributor.photo-by-piya-singh-bittercharm-6.jpg

+++++

Oscar took me to his first “print shop,”  a run-down structure on his farm.  He showed me some of his first printings from World War II, where he learned the print trade.

“I used to draw the cartoons. This got me in trouble with the commanding officer.”  I looked and about lost it —- a drawing of a platoon of soldiers lined up and all thumbing their noses at the commanding General.  The caption below it read:  “Lieutenant, I TOLD you when the General’s visiting, not to make them do a salute and an ‘eyes right’ at the same time!”

+++++

 

Once again, his pic from 1932.  Thanks, Oscar.  I wish you could have lived to have seen all this.  You’d have had your own blog.

Oscar Moskowitz.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Well, An Order IS An Order …

  1. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    I about lost it when I found that photo amongst my mom’s old photos. It gives life to all of your Uncle Oscar stories. Alas I never had the pleasure of meeting him…at least, not that I recall.

    This time I think he was a little out of order. Fun stuff.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

    • wmqcolby says:

      “A little out of order?” Why, whatever do you mean …? 😀
      I’m beginning to realize he’d make for a great character in stories. I can see it now.
      “Oscar’s Adventures In Goyland.” They’ll think I REALLY sold out!

  2. ansumani says:

    haha. That cartoon would have been a riot! Nice memories.

  3. Lynn Love says:

    A great memory. And really, what a character he was – must have been an entertaining man to know. Lovelt story

  4. Oh I do love the real story… that cartoon sounds like the perfect one… great one.

  5. Mike says:

    I just have to smile at the picture you describe, very Phil Silvers aka Bilko.

  6. wmqcolby says:

    Hey, that’s a pretty cool comparison! In a way, he was like Phil Silvers. He had that kind of sensibility. He wasn’t like him, but he emulated him.

  7. I love your humour. Hope you are getting them published!

  8. That was both funny and charming. Great (real) story, Kent! Thanks for sharing.

  9. Sandra says:

    That formed a perfect picture in my mind. 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hahaha! I’ll bet it did, knowing how you think, Sandra. I think you could have written something like this and I would have fallen down on the floor in hysterics. 😀

  10. d3athlily says:

    Hehehe Your Uncle Oscar was hilarious! Oh how I wish I could see the picture he drew. Hehe

  11. draliman says:

    Ha, it took me a second to picture it – very funny!

  12. If he drew that cartoon he probably had others as well. Talented man. Good story and well done, Kent. 😀 — Suzanne

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Suzanne. You know, come to think of it, he did tell me, in real life, that he drew the cartoons, but he only described that particular one. Would have been interesting.

  13. ceayr says:

    Grinning again, thank you

  14. wmqcolby says:

    And thank-you for reading, C.E. Hope you’re doing well.

  15. rgayer55 says:

    Good one, Kent. There were some real characters in Oscar’s generation. I had some very entertaining uncles myself. Before TV, people were really great storytellers.

    • wmqcolby says:

      I’m sure. They still are, but you’d have to really dig. I’ll bet you have stories about them, too. You ought to write one. The apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree, you know. 😉

  16. Fun. I’m sure it happened occasionally.

  17. plaridel says:

    quite an interesting fellow. 🙂

  18. mickwynn2013 says:

    Great picture well written. Perfect, thank-you.

  19. jellico84 says:

    I love the old cartoons drawn by the soldiers on the front lines. I used to have a scrapbook of ones my Granny recieved from her beau in WW2, too. thanks for the memory!

  20. I’m falling in love with Uncle Oscar.

  21. gahlearner says:

    Oh, your Uncle Oscar again, wonderful. I actually had to make the salute and eyes right movement before I could picture it, it’s even more funny now.

  22. wmqcolby says:

    Yeah. Oscar seemed like he was a boy of sorts. Just couldn’t leave well-enough alone. I kind of wonder, even though he wasn’t blood, if my family didn’t have the same type of humor. Rochelle is always accusing me of “ruining the moment” every time there’s a nice story told. Maybe, but the appreciation of that kind of humor is in my family, so, yeah. I’d say we have a stake in it.

  23. elappleby says:

    Uncle Oscar sounds like a riot. And I love the thought of him having a blog too 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yes, he would have loved it because he was in the printing business and this would have taken a lot of guess work out of projects. He was fun.

  24. Margaret says:

    Uncle Oscar sounds delightful. That would have been a funny cartoon. Lovely story.

  25. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Margaret. He’s been fun to write/talk about. 🙂

  26. Dee says:

    Loved this Kent and would liked to have met your Uncle Oscar, he sounds a great person to be around.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Oh yeah. he certainly was. My cousin Gini isn’t quite like him in that department, although, she has her moments. I think her sister, Pat, might be, but who knows? I see Gini from time to time. As for Pat, she nerd writes, she never calls … 😀

  27. Amy Reese says:

    I can see an old, dusty print shop in this cottage, Kent. Another great tale from Uncle Oscar. I bet he would have his own blog. Maybe he’d join FF? Thanks for sharing your story. Five out five salutes!

Leave a Reply

