Could It Be …?

This will definitely raise some eyebrows because such things do happen in real life.  I’m not saying yea or nay, just addressing the subject of a conversation I had with someone many years ago.

Rochelle runs  FF Central.

Doug MacIlroy’s picture is presented.

monsters-dmm.jpg

Matt couldn’t place the face of the guy in the grocery store.

The man in question seemed pleasant enough, kissing and helping his beautiful, affectionate wife with the groceries and their two sweet, cherubic toddlers.

The thought stayed with him all day, though, one of those things that will bug you constantly.  He knew him from somewhere.

Of course!  Tommy’s wedding reception at St. Benedict’s Catholic Church.  Oh, what fun that was!   That food —- wonderful!  Tommy’s wife’s dad sure paid some serious bucks.

The best part, though, happened when they toasted the groom and up walked the priest …

… the PRIEST!!!

+++++

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Could It Be …?

  1. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    Thank you for thinking outside the diving helmet this week. I’m sure this happens more often than we realize. Apparently the priest decided that sex was better than pork. (they’re only old if you’ve heart them). I give it five cups of sacramental wine and jocularity.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

    • wmqcolby says:

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Love it! “This jocularity is jocularity.” And, no, i haven’t heard the joke before, you’ll have to tell it to me when we see each other (hopefully soon!).

      The conversation I had with a guy was that he had known of priests living a double life (such as this one) which brought up the idea as to whether they should marry as opposed to living a life of celibacy and still be able to minister.

      See you at the corner tabernacle.

  2. neilmacdon says:

    The kids were angelic but not the priest

  3. wmqcolby says:

    He might have been married, just only reported it to the income tax people. 😀 😀

  4. Lynn Love says:

    Leading a double life, eh? Or maybe he wasn’t a priest at all, just a member of the congregation filling in because the real priest was late! Great little tale that made me smile 🙂

  5. Ha.. yes that celibacy is a vow that could be a split… (of course where I come from priests are married…).

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yeah, that’s right. Lutheran, isn’t it?
      The premise of the story opens up a lot of possibilities. And, again, the line is open to interpretation.

  6. I say, “Good for him.” We Catholics (Catholic by birth, agnostic by choice) need to let go of these antiquated ideas. Interesting take on the prompt.
    Tracey

  7. wmqcolby says:

    Of course, I was never Catholic, but I do see your point of view, being as how I used to be an agnostic myself.
    The purpose of the story, though, was to leave it open-ended and i hope people will get out of it what they want from it. Thanks for your comments, Tracey! 🙂

  8. plaridel says:

    the priest unmasked… but he won’t be the first. 🙂

  9. draliman says:

    Aaaand… the penny drops! This often happens to me – I’m terrible recognising people outside of the situation I’m used to seeing them in. And if this priest is Catholic… uh oh!
    Well written!

  10. elappleby says:

    Well, good for him – you get one life, might as well make it an enjoyable one! Loved this – clever last line – having to squeeze everything into 100 words makes you cut out the padding and get straight to the point and I think that almost always improves our writing. Nice one 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      The trick was to put in stuff that would divert attention away from the obvious. In other words, did I trick even Rochelle? She’s usually on to stuff like this.

  11. Sandra says:

    Nicely paced, Kent. And a terrific twist.

  12. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Sandra. I’m glad it worked for you. 😉

  13. gahlearner says:

    This is great and had me chuckling. I’m the same as Tracey, and can only shake my head at the stupid exclusion of marriage (and women as priests) in the catholic church. But then, you sin, you go to confession, sin again…

    • wmqcolby says:

      While I don’t necessarily have a problem with living a celibate lifestyle, I do believe that …
      “While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8.

      Thanks for your insight, Gabriele! 🙂

  14. Dale says:

    Three-quarters of the priests in my private high school got defrocked… not surprised at all!!

  15. wmqcolby says:

    Defrocked or deflowered? But, you know, folks …

  16. Not sure if the priest had lived a double life or if he had just left the priesthood. Not for me to judge, but an interesting story about the many often surprising sides of all of us.

  17. Good story, Kent. Some priests leave with the permission of the Church, some without. Seminaries need to be more careful and catch those who might not be successful. It’s not my concern so I keep away from the topic. It’s like not discussing religion or politics. They’re explosive. People have to be mature enough to decide for themselves. Parents in the past have sometimes pushed too hard to get one or more of their children to enter the priesthood. Parents should “never” make a choice for a child or make them feel guilty for choosing something different. They also sometimes try to live through their child. That’s very wrong. No one should be swayed by what “others” will say or think. It’s not the business of those “others”. —- Suzanne

  18. I was raised Catholic so the thing I don’t get is that the priests (and the nuns) always preached that God knew all and was watching. If they really believe that how is that they live these secret lives? Sorry Kent, it’s rhetorical but your story really makes you think.

    • wmqcolby says:

      It’s a decent enough question. They know God sees, they don’t want their PARISH (people) to find out. Being married and having children is not immoral, just against church policy (concerning the priesthood). So, what the guy in my story did was, for all practical purposes, “illegal” but certainly not immoral, even according to scripture … which brings up another question — should the policy be changed? I’ll let the Church take it from there.

  19. Great story. I’ve certainly been in the position of being unable to put a name to a face, though the face in question has never turned out to belong to a moonlighting clergyman.

    • wmqcolby says:

      I’m getting really bad at names anymore. I used to be able to remember them clearly. Some people you never forget, even if you have met them once. I don’t attribute that to bad memory and getting older so much as it’s having a lot of things on my plate and never reviewing all the memories. This is because my life is better and busier and uses up more RAM in the brain. 😀

  20. ansumani says:

    I like how you show how the mind works when trying to recollect that lost piece of memory. Nice one.

Leave a Reply

