Son And Fun In El Salvador

Rochelle”Rocky the Flying Squirrel” Wisoff – Fields, Captain of FF Airlines,  also has AWESOME reading material for your flight, so buy a novel of hers — or THREE. They’re great!

Rich Voza sent the pic.

This story (with a little tweaking) first appeared on February 6, 2013.

Enjoy.

 

Image

 

+++++++++

Naomi and I had our seats near a crying baby on the four-hour long flight to El Salvador.  I felt like crying, too.  Our son, down there and jobless, marrying … what was her name?  Rosita?

“He quit!!!  That idiot left the best money he ever made!”

Naomi interrupted my rant while wrestling with her pillow.  “If I remember right, Carl, YOU were just as crazy about me as Kevin is with her.”   She paused.  “You don’t suppose …?”

“What? He knocked her up?”

“Let’s say he did.  What will YOU say?”

I thought, then sighed.  “Welcome to the club, Kevin.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Son And Fun In El Salvador

  1. Ha.. yes I think that in the end it will sort itself out.. I do remember the story and I liked it a lot then as well.

  2. wmqcolby says:

    Well, thank-you very much, Bjorn. I’m really enjoying these summer reruns. It helps to reintroduce content to new readers and also gets us to maybe stretch a little in our writing.

  3. The apple falls not far from the tree. Maybe everybody will like Rosita and all will be happy ever after. Love a happy ending.

  4. Best response to start with, deal with everything else later.
    Lovely story.

  5. Lovely story! Well done. Made me laugh.

  6. Really enjoyed your story! Made me chuckle, and happens all of the time…as far as reactions go lol 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      This actually was part of a three-story series. All three stand alone and are told from the different perspectives. Scan down to 2013 and you’ll see them close to each other.

  7. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    First of all thanks for the bit of advertisement. 😉 Your story gave new meaning to the old adage, “Like father, like son.” Hopefully the rents will fall in love with Rosita. Five out of five maracas.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  8. ceayr says:

    Cool story, nicely built and turned.

  9. I would love to know what they think of Rosita when they meet her. So many ways this could go.

  10. How soon we forget our own mistakes of youth or perhaps blessings in disguise.

  11. Samra says:

    Very light hearted, yet powerful. Loved the message you conveyed so nonchalantly – To remember our own doings and being supportive of our dear ones.

  12. wmqcolby says:

    I just wanted it to have a funny one-liner ending, really, but I’l take it.

    Thanks, Samra! 🙂

  13. plaridel says:

    i guess it’s better to let it be and hope for the best. 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      Indeed. Thanks for stopping by, Plaridel and hope to see you again real soon. Think up some good ideas while you’re away and we’l be around to enjoy reading them.

  14. History often does repeat itself. Unfortunately, when and where and for whom we don’t want it – our children!

  15. Sandra says:

    I remember both of those stories Kent – funny how things stay with you. I too am enjoying the re-runs. It gives you an opportunity to re-tread, re-work or try something different. Hope all is well with you.

  16. wmqcolby says:

    Thank-you, Sandra. I’m rather proud of these stories because I regard them as some of my best work (well, for the time, anyway!). I, too, am excited about rerunning content, introducing it to new readers, getting the opportunity to try it again and better. All’s … pretty good, I guess. I’ll e-mail you the details later. Nothing pressing, just too much to fit on here. 🙂

  17. draliman says:

    Ha! Well, evidently it worked out okay for him and his wife 🙂

  18. wmqcolby says:

    And passed on something that probably shouldn’t have been. 😀

  19. Jan Brown says:

    How quickly some forget what it is to be young!!!

  20. rgayer55 says:

    I don’t remember much of what I read three years ago, but I do remember this piece. The characters are so genuine and the subject matter is something people have discussed since the beginning of time.

    It’s a very large club. I’m not a member, but several of my buddies joined while in their late teens and early twenties.

  21. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! Yeah, I had a couple of guys I knew while I was in college (a Baptist college at that) who became members. Unfortunately, neithers’ marriages lasted. 😦 That’s pretty cool, though, you and Sandra, remember this story. And you’re right — it’s a subject that’s pretty universally discussed. I hope I get the opportunity to republish the other two stories (which I might).

    Thanks, Russell.

  22. Alice Audrey says:

    Like father, like son, I guess. Is a way of love genetic?

    • wmqcolby says:

      Oh, I think it’s much more complicated than plain old genetics. I think it might have something to do with attitude, which is even more complicated.

  23. gahlearner says:

    That’s how parents should be. Critical, worrying but also loving and accepting. Wonderful tale.

  24. Margaret says:

    I like the crying baby at the start. A sign of things to come? Great dialogue – it captures the mood and fills in the back story so well and so economically.

  25. wmqcolby says:

    Whoa, Margaret! I didn’t even THINK of that crying baby being a foreshadowing. Thank-you! I just put it in because it was not going to be a comfortable flight. Thank-you, THANK-YOU! 🙂

  26. Grandbabies make everything better 🙂

  27. mickwynn2013 says:

    Resigned to having to accept the situation as he’s been there himself. But I’m sure it’ll turn out alright in the end.

  28. Haha a classic parent’s instruction of “do as i say, not as i do”. I’m sure Naomi will make sure Carl gives Rosita a fair chance.
    PS “Captain of FF Airlines” – that made me smile, i may borrow that in the future if you don’t mind (with all the necesary credit and acknowledgement of course!)

  29. wmqcolby says:

    Don’t borrow it, STEAL IT! It’s too good. No need for credit. There are plenty of other titles for her, as Russell will be the first to tell you (us). Glad you liked the story. 🙂

  30. subroto says:

    Ha! Ha! What’s that about falling apples and trees, though knowledge of birds and bees would have helped.

Leave a Reply

