Summer Vacation Reruns

This first appeared on May 27, 2014. Please enjoy it.

+++++

In January 23 of 2013, I wrote a story called My Summer Vacation.  On February 6 of that same year, I wrote a follow-up called Son and Fun In El Salvador.  Both were written from different viewpoints.  Now, I reveal the third and final installment.  In order that the narratives make sense, as part of my introduction, I give you the first two parts.

First, Part One:

+++

My Summer Vacation

Mom and Dad came to the wedding  — an overseas trip to an open-air house of cement bricks, tiles and a toilet that flushes with a bucket of water.

Sure, Dad could have chided me about leaving a good-paying job, never coming back from vacation from what he called, “a sweat-box with palm trees.”  I didn’t tell them what kind of work I have.  I don’t have any work. I told Mom and Dad all they REALLY needed to know:

Love happens fast in Central America — just not the part where it happened nine months ahead of schedule!

+++

Second, Part Two:

+++

My Summer Vacation:  Son and Fun In El Salvador

Naomi and I had our seats near a crying baby on the four-hour long flight to El Salvador.  I felt like crying, too.  Our Kevin, down there getting married to … what was her name?  Rosita?

“He quit!!!  That idiot left the best money he ever made …”

Naomi interrupted my rant while wrestling with her pillow.  “If I remember right, Carl, YOU were just as crazy about me as he is with Rosita.”   She paused.  “You don’t suppose …?”

“What? He knocked her up?”

“Let’s say he did.  What will YOU say?”

I thought, then sighed.  “Welcome to the club, Kevin.”

+++

So, now, this week’s photo prompt courtesy of Sandra Crook. Wonderful photo, Sandra. Reminds me of Central America where this is common.

Image

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields leads the FF Troop into the frontier.  Vamonos!

And now, the conclusion of:

My Summer Vacation:  Rosita.

+++

Walking down the aisle on my wedding day with morning sickness wasn’t the worst of my fears.  It was meeting Naomi, mother of my handsome American gringo-boy, Kevin.

Words came to my mind seeing her sitting in the sanctuary — words not allowed at La Iglesia de Guadalupe de San Salvador.  Words calling me a “prostitute” or “opportunist.”

Then the surprise came.  During the reception, Kevin’s mother approached me, took my face in her hands and kissed it.  She looked at me beaming and spoke to me with a sweet and comforting Castillian accent!

“Mi hija, bienvenida a nuestra familia.” *

+++

*TRANSLATION: “My daughter, welcome to our family.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Summer Vacation Reruns

  1. Sandra says:

    That was a lovely conclusion to the POV trilogy, Kent. It was a good idea too. I’m glad it ended happily. Well done.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Well, it was YOUR photo that did it, Sandra. 😉 Actually, it’s one of the works I’m proudest of. Some stuff just flows out. Thanks for your wonderful comments.

  2. Wow… what a great happy end… I do remember all those stories, and the way to make it complete from three different viewpoints is brilliant… I think you could make more installments…. but it works as a conclusion too.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Glad you liked it, Bjorn. Thank-you! It needed those separate POV’s and each does stand alone. I probably could have done more installments, but it’s more of the “you get the idea” type of presentation.

  3. Mike says:

    Stories that gel together, well done on the ending. Mike

  4. Oh I LOVE a happy ending!

    • wmqcolby says:

      It had to be happy. For one thing, it seems a lot of the FF contributors like it dark a lot of times. And I think we’ve had enough of that (for my tastes, and, yes, I do like it dark, but it’s the quality I look for in writing, not necessarily the subject matter). For another, if it had been a sad ending, I would have had to have written an explanation — like several stories worth! It was fun to write. Thanks, Louise!

  5. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    I loved that Kevin’s mom welcomed her new daughter in law in Castillano. Perfectamente y muy divertido.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS Echad más.

  6. wmqcolby says:

    Jijiji! Well, the thought was that Kevin’s mom is a Spaniard. Not a whole lot of clues in that, I know, just the name, “Naomi” (which was probably “Noemi” and it’s either her American name or he just pronounces it the Yankee way) and the fact she speaks Castilian Spanish. The mom was patterned off of a guest we had on the noon show. She lives in Overland Park or Olathe, kind of along the border, and her dad was in the Air Force in Spain, her mom was a Spaniard. This gal grew up in Spain and she’s married to an American, they have kids in school, she’s in her forties, but you couldn’t tell at ALL she had that background. When I told her I was going to Mexico, she asked me in Spanish when I was going. I went, WOW! Castilian accent! But, she was just a regular suburban mom like everyone else. Who knew? So, the surprise ending is patterned off of her and her response to me. Pretty cool when something like that happens, huh?

  7. Lynn Love says:

    What a lovely story – accepted into the family after all that worry! Lovely stuff 🙂

  8. Amy Reese says:

    Wow, a trilogy, Kent. What a pleasure. I love the accepting nature of all your pieces, of their situations and their welcoming members into the family. Wonderful, heartfelt stories. 5 out of 5 baby rattles!

    • wmqcolby says:

      “Goo-goo-goo” or, as they say in Spanish, “ah-goo, ah-goo, ah-goo.” Now, what will Kevin and Rosita live on … love? Like Cary Grant said about spring in one of his old movies , it’s the time of year when a young man’s fancy turns to … what he’s been thinking about all winter. 😀

      Thanks for your really cool and sweet comments, Amy!

  9. mjlstories says:

    The present revealing the past – and a subtle message for tolerance and understanding woven into the story. Loved it!

    • wmqcolby says:

      Oh, I wouldn’t go that far, but I DO appreciate the sentiment.

      I would say it’s simply a story of a kid who got his girl pregnant, following in his father’s footsteps. Surprise! 😀

  10. draliman says:

    I like the different viewpoints, and a lovely ending!

  11. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Ali. I try to keep mixing it up a bit.

  12. gahlearner says:

    This is lovely. I remember the earlier stories, and I really like how you pulled it off. Each one stands on its own and makes an interesting flash. Together they form a great story.

  13. mickwynn2013 says:

    I love the way this has evolved and this last piece is written beautifully from her anxious viewpoint

  14. I remember those stories and the great happy ending, Kent. It’s very memorable and lovely. Good writing indeed. 🙂 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

