Voyage To See What’s On The Bottom

Why do I think Russell Gayer is manipulating my writing this week?  OK, I’ll dedicate it to him, then, since it is up his alley in warped humor.

Captain Rochelle welcomes you aboard the Good Ship FF Central.

CPO Jan Wayne Fields took the shot.

So … let’s ALL have a shot!

Jan Wayne Fields.jpg

+++++++++

Bill said, “We’re gonna play this one episode. See how many of us can stay standing watching it.”

This I gotta see.

Shot glasses in hands, Charlie with the Scotch bottle, the episode began.

The Captain gave the order to the Exec.  “All ahead two-thirds.”  The guys downed a shot.  Glasses quickly refilled.  They watched again.

“Rig for silent running.”

(two gulps)

“Someone hit me from behind.”

(three gulps)

“Guys!  Eight windows on the Seaview!”

(seven gulps)

Bill won.  He raised his glass.  “Tune in next time when Admiral Nelson says, ‘Lee, you  SUCK as a Sub Captain.’ “

(thud)

+++++++++

70157125.jpg

This show over the four years it was on the air, had a lot of lines and situations reused, so, it makes an excellent drinking game!  No, I never played it, I found it out on line.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Voyage To See What’s On The Bottom

  1. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    This could be bad. Yes it could be very bad. Time to call in the puppets, but NEVER tell Lee he sucks as a sub captain. 😉 Bottoms up.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

    • wmqcolby says:

      Only because you like to sing it as, “Me and Mister/Hedisooooon/We got a thiiiiiing goin’ ooooonnn”

      ADM. NELSON: This vessel is MY brainchild.
      CAPT. CRANE: So we’re NEVER out of trouble!

      Too bad, too bad … 😀 😀 😀

  2. ceayr says:

    I am sure this is very funny, but I confess i have no idea what it is about.
    The only word I understand is Scotch.

  3. Sandra says:

    No I don’t understand it either. But there’s something about the pacing that tells me it’s probably very funny. Always nice to see you here Kent.

  4. Ah.. there is something you never say on board a boat… never ever bottom’s up… it can be misunderstood… I wonder when it comes useful to be the last man standing in a drinking game… I mean who will ever remember who won?—

  5. Lynn Love says:

    Drinking games – very, very dangerous territory there 🙂 Never taken part in one (as I can’t really hold my drink at all ) but I believe THINGS can happen once they begin. Was this one of your drinking games at college? 🙂

  6. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! No, it wasn’t. I don’t even drink (although I have been known to have one on occasion). In fact, my college was very strict (no alcohol allowed on campus). However, I CAN write about it . I had heard of the Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea drinking game while reading articles about the show on line. There really is no game (it was kind of a joke, really,) So I thought maybe if there actually were one, I’d write about it.

  7. I can picture the scene: messy, very messy! 🙂

  8. Thank goodness you explained this to Sandra!!!! Thank you, now I get it.

  9. wmqcolby says:

    I should have titled it Nerds Unlimited 2.

  10. Very funny!
    I got it the first time but couldn’t understand it fully until you explained as I haven’t seen the show!

  11. draliman says:

    Some people will turn anything into a drinking game 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      A one American (institution) funny man named Bob Newhart had a show in the 70’s where he played a psychologist. The funny thing is that there was a lot of “Hi, Bob” being said in the shows. Not that it was anything to write home about, but some folks played THAT as a drinking game called, “Hi, Bob.” I don’t know if Bob is popular in Europe, but he sure is here. Wonderfully dry wit. I like mine on the rocks. 😀

  12. rgayer55 says:

    We actually had a board game called Passout when I was college age (i.e. – 18 to 40 in Arkansas). I always preferred the ones where you made the other person drink. Passing out and having a hangover was never any fun, but watching someone else make a fool of themselves was sheer delight.

    Five out of Five Captain Morgans.

    • wmqcolby says:

      How could that have been a board game? Curious.

      Of course, other “hybrids” like, say, Strip Authors, for example, yes. I counted my winnings a LOT with that game — people thought I was folding laundry. Henry W. Longfellow was my ace in the hole. The author, that is.

  13. gahlearner says:

    I now get it, too. Drinking games make me shudder. 🙂

  14. I never lost a drinking game…not sure it is something to brag about. 😛 Got it from the start, but even if I was clueless, the charm and humor can’t be missed.

  15. plaridel says:

    i didn’t get it at first, but once i got through the comments, it became clear and saw through the glass darkly. 🙂

  16. I got it but I raised two frat boys so I understand this frivolity.
    Cheers,
    Tracey
    5 red Solo cups for this work

  17. wmqcolby says:

    I was thinking about Solo cups and how, when they first came out, we used to wash them and reuse them. Revolutionary for the time. Did you?

  18. Margaret says:

    I love Friday Fictioneers – so educational. Thank you for adding to my experience of the world outside my own little bubble.

  19. mickwynn2013 says:

    I must confess I needed the explanation but having got it enjoyed the piece a lot

  20. wmqcolby says:

    Glad I helped, Mick. Thanks for reading.

  21. I wasn’t a fan of that show but there were other old TV shows where you could no doubt do the same thing. Funny stuff, Kent. 😀 — Suzanne

  22. wmqcolby says:

    Like the Bob Newhart Show, huh? 😀

    Thanks, Suzanne.

  23. wmqcolby says:

    I thought so, too, Dawn. Thanks! 😀

  24. Amy Reese says:

    Ah, yes, Kent. I’m familiar with this type of games with other episodes. There was one people played with “Cheers” I remember. This one would get you good and drunk. 5 out of 5 clinks! Bottoms up!

  25. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! How did the Cheers game work? What had to happen?

Leave a Reply

