Boy, Did We Get A Wrong Number!

Well, I’m back and as you see I have been away for awhile.  Rochelle, her husband, Jan, and I were at the Ozark Writer’s League conference in Branson, MO.  Rochelle won a prize for her art, and I won a door prize OF art — a little clay-made owl by Ronda Del Boccio. Rochelle and I did a radio play from the Baby Snooks Show of 1948 that starred Funny Lady Fanny Brice.  Rochelle was Snooks, I played the part radio actor Hanley Stafford played — Snooks’ dad (with his perpetual headache of a daughter).  We had a great time! See the video on YouTube and you’ll see what we look and talk like!

OK, the story.  This is a true story and it fit the photo because, well … you just can’t make up this stuff!

Photo by Georgia Koch.

boatpilxr_-antiqued.jpg

+++++

The police report came through to the news assignment desk at WMXT.

“Mike Bradley, 38, found dead in Lake Quivira due to boating accident.”

The news sent producer Amy and associate producer Angie, into a stunned silence.  Mike Bradley was their Assignment Editor!  And he had a boat at Lake Quivira!

“Angie, you don’t suppose …”

“Lemme get this. I’ll call the house. ”

Angie dialed the phone.  Mike Bradley’s voice answered.  “This is Mike.”

Angie sighed.  “Oh, Mike!  I’m SO happy to hear your voice!”

Mike chuckled, “I’m so happy that you thought of me as still being 38 years old!”

+++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Boy, Did We Get A Wrong Number!

  1. Jan Brown says:

    Funny story–and I’m glad he’s alive 😀

  2. wmqcolby says:

    Yeah. He’s retired now.

  3. michael1148humphris says:

    Smiling,

  4. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks for your smile, Mike! 😀

  5. Iain Kelly says:

    Nice one. Made me smile with that last line.

  6. Lynn Love says:

    What an extraordinary co-incidence – and what a heart stopping moment for his friends! Nicely built tension there. I did wonder if poor Mike would make it out alive 🙂

  7. Ha! Great story. What a delightful mistake – except for the real Mike.

  8. Oh I love it… and good there was joy for everyone… I recall how a friend thought that we had died in the mountains when the news stated that a couple “in their fifties” had died… hmm it actually made me a bit disappointed even if I was alive. (I was only 47 then).

  9. wmqcolby says:

    Hahahaha! Yeah, I can see that, too.

  10. It’s all in the details, lol!

  11. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    An enjoyable read flooded with happy relief. 😀

    BTW…That was two awards for art. 😉

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  12. Sandra says:

    Good to have you back now that you’ve finished owling around. Great story.

  13. Amy Reese says:

    You had me there, Kent. I was expecting a malicious laugh or something. Great tale. 5 of out of 5 ring-a-dings! I do want to check out the YouTube video. Link? Glad you had fun!

  14. wmqcolby says:

    Yes, here it is. I can’t play it, though. Rochelle says she can. I don’t know why I can’t … on BOTH my computers and different internet providers. Oh well …

    Enjoy!

  15. gahlearner says:

    Sheesh, sigh of relief. You can even make a tragedy funny. And it’s nice to see you two in action.

  16. That was funny, Kent. You’re right. Truth’s not only stranger but often funnier than what’s made up. Good video of you and Rochelle. My parents and I used to listen to “Baby Snooks” on radio. Those were some great old shows. 🙂 — Suzanne

  17. wmqcolby says:

    Way cool. We had a picture of Fanny Brice and Rochelle about matched her perfectly in looks as well as voice. I’m an old radio aficionado, so this is one of my favorites.

  18. I loved the gentle humor in this, Kent! Sweet story! Very glad there was no dark, tragic ending!

  19. wmqcolby says:

    Hmmm. I never thought of this as gentle, but, hey! Whatever keeps from the dark, tragic, I’ll take it!
    Thanks, Vijaya!

Leave a Reply

