I, Interview

Like Ray Bradbury said about Fahrenheit 451, he was writing to PREVENT the future, not predict it.  And, I doubt I’m the first to think of this idea, so …

This story contains no artificial ingredients.  In short, no rewrites.  It is what it is as I put it down on cyber paper.  Photo by Shaktiki Sharma.  They reminded me of little swimming pool robot cleaner-uppers instead of grindstones.  Mea culpa.

shaktikiff2.jpg

+++++

“They did … what??”

“They copied my synapses.  You see, since stuff is run by machines now, all they have to do is interview someone … like me … and copy my responses so the machine can run with human-type responses.”

Al thought a minute.  “And they can actually do that now?”

Charlie lit a cigarette.  “Yup.  Best part is, they pay me a royalty for using my brain patterns in the robot.  So, I get paid and I ain’t got to do nothing.”

“And if the robot breaks down?”

Charlie about dropped his cig.  “Holy cow, I never thought of that.”

+++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to I, Interview

  1. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    I’m trying to imagine how that robot’s going to operate. Frankly, it’s a little frightening. 😉 Warning! Warning!

    Shalom,

    Cuzzing Shelley

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    I wonder if the robot breaks down, does Charlie stop working too? 🙂 Great idea.

  3. neilmacdon says:

    That was great fun, William

  4. What a fun story. I’d be afraid if someone had my synapses.

  5. This is sadly the truth isn’t it?

  6. I fear it’s far to real already.

  7. wmqcolby says:

    In a way, but the REAL changes are coming.

  8. Lynn Love says:

    This can’t be that far off, surely? A fascinating if slightly disturbing idea. Nicely told 🙂

  9. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Lynn! The future can hold lots of possibilities … some we might do without in certain areas of life. 😀

  10. draliman says:

    Well, it’s hardly his fault if his shonky synapses cause the thing to blow a circuit. Humorous story but a slightly scary possible future.

  11. gahlearner says:

    Stay out of my synapses! That’ll be the new slogan, just wait. This is a great story, and a very scary idea.

  12. Oh the forgetfulness of the lazy one!

  13. ceayr says:

    They can make a movie out of this, call it You, Robot.
    And from your description of the protagonists, it seems to me more likely that Charlie will break down.

  14. wmqcolby says:

    Well, that could happen, yes. I think I smell a real story from all this.

  15. Alice Audrey says:

    Has he had a mental break down before? Oh boy….

  16. wmqcolby says:

    Hahahahaha! Ouch! That would hurt production, I dare say. 😀

  17. This is exactly where computing and AI will be headed in n years. The brain is nothing but an electronic calculating machine. Once The Scientists work out how it does it, we will be able to download our personalities. Or more chillingly, have them downloaded for us and replaced with something “better”, and not always with our consent

  18. This is a true to life possibility that really makes you think!

  19. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Dawn. I just hope it prevents rather than predicts the future.

  20. Sandra says:

    I don’t think any robot would want my synapses. They’ve got too much sense. Good one Kent.

  21. Margaret says:

    Charlie should have thought a little more carefully before agreeing to be ‘interviewed’ perhaps. I like your concept – what is a brain anyway?

  22. rgayer55 says:

    I would hate to think of what a robot would do if it ran on my brain patterns.

  23. I would rather think that his time doing nothing would end then… maybe replacing the robot… I thought about something even worse… imagine that the robot is promoted and you are hired back to work for a robot that’s actually in part yourself…

  24. wmqcolby says:

    Oh yes. That could happen, too. Good idea.

  25. I can just see your story up on the TV or movie screen one day, Kent, and we can say we knew you when. Good writing. 🙂 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

