The Gangster Fortune

“Green door, what’s that secret you’re keepin’?”

OK, so the door isn’t green, but there IS a secret behind it.

Blog Queen Rochelle rules this kingdom of words and prose.

C.E. Ayr, the Mad Scotsman, provided the picture.  I think his sense about what he writes inspired (the polite word for it) me to author this little tidbit.

The FF Jester has spoken.  All depart.

+++++

ceayr-purple-door.jpg

“Will you hold that thing still?  I can’t see anything!”

Brandon aimed the flashlight at the door.  “That better?”

Bill continued scraping off the crusts of dirt, layered through the decades.

“I understand he hid the money here.”  He finally forced open the door.  Dust and must filled the air.

Brandon coughed.  “Supposed to be some 7 million dollars, huh?”

Bill looked down and saw a body bound and gagged.  He jumped.  “Somebody got to it before we did.”  He picked up a bottle of what looked like bathtub gin.  He aimed the light at the body.

“It’s Geraldo Rivera!”

+++++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to The Gangster Fortune

  1. Dear Cuzzin Notnek,

    Hahahahahahahahahahahaha. We all wondered what happened to Geraldo. More than likely a wrestler ‘done him in.’

    And the blog queen rules with Purple Prose. 😉 Love the intro. So, please, don’t be vexed. Thank you, Mr. Rajah.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. neilmacdon says:

    Being a Brit, I only just know who Geraldo is. So I probably missed some of the resonances

  3. wmqcolby says:

    Well, here is Geraldo Rivera’s claim to fame. In the early 80’s, he had put together a news show special about gangster Al Capone. There had been reports that Capone had hidden a secretly vast fortune in a vault behind a wall in Chicago. So, Rivera decided to air this live while the construction workers were about to blow up this wall to reveal the secret vault. When the time at the end of the show came, they blew up the wall and found nothing but a bottle of bathtub gin. All that hype and no “grand fortune” and everybody in America who watched it felt so cheated. Geraldo was pretty unpopular and always controversial from that time on. I remember myself and my parents watching it. I liked it, but Dad was laughing so hard.

  4. Iain Kelly says:

    Having to search this Geraldo guy, and learning about Al Capone’s empty vaults. And you’ve got me singing Green Door in my head too…. Good take 🙂

  5. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Iain. Glad I expanded your learning. 😀

  6. Sandra says:

    I was right royally entertained, even if I wasn’t familiar with Geraldo. The only Geraldo I ever heard of was a dance-band leader. I think. I love the way you link your stories to real life. Good one.

  7. draliman says:

    Thanks for your explanation above of who “Geraldo Rivera” is – I did a quick Google but it just said something about being a talk show host, your explanation of the specific event had me read your story again. Fun 🙂

  8. wmqcolby says:

    Yeah, it was a fun news special, but the look on his face when they found nothing was priceless!

  9. rgayer55 says:

    Well, I know all too well who Geraldo Rivera is. This piece is hilarious. Geraldo should’ve been bound and gagged years ago. His stuff was better suited for the National Inquirer than prime time TV.

    Five out of five straightjackets and a looney bin box to boot.

    • wmqcolby says:

      The only thing he did I liked was that Al Capone show. It was informative and it moved right along and wasn’t boring. I think Buddy Rogers (Olathe, KS. native and husband of Mary Pickford) was interviewed on that show. But … that’s it. I never liked him at ABC, I STILL don’t like him. He’s about as Hispanic as Sammy Davis, Jr., too. Real name: Jerry Rivers.

      Thanks for the straight-jackets and looney bin box. You have my birthday covered (12/21). Now … what about Christmas?

  10. gahlearner says:

    This was fun (after I read the comments). 🙂

  11. Amy Reese says:

    So, that’s what happened to Geraldo! Very funny, Kent. That gave me a chuckle. I give you 7 million out of 7 million dollars. You deserve the money!

  12. plaridel says:

    you didn’t say if he was still alive. 🙂

  13. wmqcolby says:

    Hmmm. Well, I guess you have a point, Plaridel. I wanted it to have been dead, but I suppose I left a door open on that one (no pun intended).

  14. Lynn Love says:

    From what little I’ve just read about him, he sounds like a contentious figure – and that’s being polite! We have a man here who runs a Geraldo-style talk show called Jeremy Kyle – just horrible. An entertaining take on his lower profile and the Capone story is very funny – sounds like Geraldo set himself up for a fall. Great tale 🙂

  15. wmqcolby says:

    Yes, I remember Jeremy Kyle. He had a talk show here in the States for two seasons. I never watched it, but I remember him. American TV is highly competitive and he didn’t last much. Personally, I hate these “talk” shows. They’re exploitative, trashy and weird. I like talk shows like the Morning Show I worked on where we had fun guests, funny things to say, etc. But, everyone likes a train wreck. “Oh, I can’t look … oh, but I don’t want to miss anything.” Geraldo Rivera wasn’t like that, but he’s arrogant. That I don’t like.

    See the rant you threw me on? 😀

  16. Ahahaha…ya made me snort out loud!

  17. Ha… Had to read your explanation, but then I did get it… I did expect you to find something else behind a green door…

    • wmqcolby says:

      There was many years ago in a neighboring town a green door at a shopping center that they thought was a massage parlor but was probably a front for prostitution. My dad was affiliated with law enforcement then, he told me about it.

  18. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    My mind when to Geraldo’s big reveal in my story as well. Liked that in your world he ended up behind a locked door.

  19. wmqcolby says:

    Haha! Thanks, Cindy.

  20. wmqcolby says:

    I’m sure you probably didn’t get it, but it’s also one of the least interesting of my stories.

  21. Ha, ha. Thanks for the explanation, Kent. I remember a bit about it, but not the aftermath effect. This was funny. So that’s why we haven’t heard from him all these years. Now we know. Funny stuff and good writing. 😀 — Suzanne

  22. Margaret says:

    An entertaining story, and I’ve learned something this week. I’d never heard of the man in question, so thank you for adding the explanation. However, I’d like to give Brandon and Bill a cheer for their efforts. They may have arrived just in time to save Mr Rivera and allow him to revive his TV career.

  23. Michael Wynn says:

    Great take and thanks for introducing me to the story of Geraldo

  24. wmqcolby says:

    You’re welcome, sir. Glad to have helped. 🙂

  25. I know Geraldo! Watched few of his shows back in a day. Waste of time. 😀 Your story is no waste of time, brilliant as ever, you made me laugh again.

  26. wmqcolby says:

    Well, thank-you ever so much, Loré!
    You live in Europe, right? How did you see his shows?

Leave a Reply

