Send More Chuck Berry!

january-snowfall-nighttime.jpg

Sarah Potter gave us this photo.  Thanks, Sarah.

I had NO idea what this was (which goes to show you NEVER wake up at 4 AM to see what the prompt of the week is — you’ll get confused).

Then, again, it isn’t what you’re looking at, either.  Same for the story.  It first appeared on March 26th, 2014.  Have at!

 

+++++

The two boys couldn’t wait to run out to the woods near the neighborhood.

“I’ll be Kyle and you’ll be Derrick and our spaceship just crashed here.”

“Right. We can pretend to build a campfire.” They stacked sticks and twigs.

Their moms stepped outside the house. “Time to come in now, boys! You can continue this tomorrow.”

The boys’ mothers looked at each other. “Hmm. Since that thing crashed-landed, every kid is playing spaceman.”

Holding the newspaper, the other mom opened it to the headline. “Oh, look. There’s more news on it.  You think they decoded those symbols yet?”

headlines

+++++

Title explanation: when they sent the Voyager up, they sent a record called The Sounds of Earth.  On it were all the recorded sounds of language, animals and music of the world. This included the Chuck Berry song, “Johnny B. Goode.”  On Saturday Night Live (an American TV satirical comedy program, for those outside the States), they did a news sketch where they reported the Voyager probe had been found by aliens and the aliens listened to the record and sent a message back, “Send More Chuck Berry!” Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Send More Chuck Berry!

  1. neilmacdon says:

    I had to read it twice before I understood it. Good one!

  2. Lynn Love says:

    Haha! Great, Kent. Wouldn’t that be wonderful – the first contact with alien life through music. Super idea. And who wouldn’t want to hear more Chuck Berry? 🙂

  3. That’s awesome. Love a space story from a different perspective. Love that they chose the names Kyle and Derrick too… So funny.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Jessie! It is. I didn’t intend it to be funny, but that’s fine, too. I like The Twilight Zone and this seems to be their kind of story. In fact, it was based somewhat on an episode, the idea, anyway.

  4. Dear Cuzzin NotNek,

    I can’t help but see Jeff Bridges saying “Red light stop, green light go, yellow light go…very fast!” Fun stuff.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  5. rgayer55 says:

    Dear NotNek,

    I’m sure they were hoping for a copy of “My Ding-a-ling” Too bad Perry isn’t here, I think he has they lyrics memorized.

    Father Kowalski

  6. ceayr says:

    Ridiculous.
    Love it.
    Five out of five No Particular Place to gos.

  7. Rommy says:

    I will always request more Chuck Berry too!

  8. You know, there is always the possibility that everyone sent to examine the crash has done it at 4 AM and half-asleep. I mean, it’s really hard to tell what’s what at that time of the morning. 😀

    Thanks for the clever chuckle.

  9. Love this, though I never heard of the story. I wonder if it’s been decoded yet.

  10. A different take on the space stuff. Well written.

  11. gahlearner says:

    Fun story. I wonder what happens if this disk is ever found by another intelligent race.

  12. wmqcolby says:

    They’ll be singing “Johnny B. Goode” tonight. They won’t know what it means, but it’ll become a classic, I’m sure.

  13. draliman says:

    Fun! Reminds me of the first Star Trek film. I think that was to do with Voyager “gone mad”.

  14. plaridel says:

    i’m spaced out decoding those symbols. enjoyed the story, though. 🙂

  15. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! Thanks, Plaridel. Have fun decoding. 😀

  16. Good Evening Kent,
    Quite a tale your giving us this week. I think music can connect us all even aliens with spacemen.
    I can’t get the Chuck Barry’s song out of my head. And, then, I want to dance. Then, my energy goes up and I can’t sleep. Do you see what you’ve started? LOL
    Seriously, I’ll have some more cocktail party chit chat with my brother-in-law with all of this. He was head of security for NASA. Retired a few years ago. I think we saw the Voyager when we took a private behind-the-scenes tour with him. AND … they say you stop learning … HAH … never.
    BTW … your story was good. I sort of diverted a little. Muy buen fin de semana, amigo.
    Isadora 😎

  17. wmqcolby says:

    Really? Your brother was head of security at NASA? That’s too cool! My uncle worked on the Gemini through Apollo projects back in the day. He delivered the payload and cargo to the center. He had been a career man in the Air Force from WW II through Korea. To see the Voyager, though, that’s pretty impressive.
    The more I have thought about it, though, the more I realize I missed an opportunity with this story. The title really has little to nothing to do with Chuck Berry. If it’s titled that, it should have EVERYTHING to do with the song, or with the situation. It would still be a surprise. Oh well …

    Tengas un al fin de semana excelente, también.

  18. subroto says:

    He is still performing, would you believe it and has a new album out this year. This might be the year when the aliens try to get a ticket to the show.

  19. I’m guessing that subjecting aliens to our music might be a bit of a hit and miss affair. Just think how, even in our world, one person’s choice of music is another person’s nightmare. Our music might actually result in the death of an alien, because it was on a frequency that cut right through its brain. I feel as if I’ll keel over sometimes, if I hear shrieking sopranos with imperfect pitch hitting a high note.

  20. I wonder what record they would send today. Nicely done.

  21. I love the idea of this, Kent. I’m with Loré: what would they send today? Such a delightful story, combining the idealism and creativity of children, and some interesting history.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thank-you, Dawn. It was a fun story to write, although, the idea has probably been done to death since Richard Matheson and some of his contributions to the Twilight Zone. However, I like to put in my two cents on it. 😉

Leave a Reply

