Fandom … And Who Needs It?

Well, hello again, folks!  Yes, it’s been awhile.  Why?  Because I have been busy getting my house in order.  At the young age I am, I am officially … retired!

Yes, retired.  I have joined the ranks of that great bunch of people whose time is now their own.  Also, I am working on a rather long and involved story that will knock your socks off.  The research has been the time spent away from the distinctive “wmqcolby” blog.  As soon as it’s ready, it will be serialized here.

Now then …

sp-overgrown-summer-house.jpg

The wonderful Sarah Potter kindly consented for us the use of this picture of hers.  Thanks, Sarah!

Ever wonder what REALLY goes on in the minds of actors and the memorable roles they played? Maybe this …

 

+++++

 

Here it comes … THE question.

“How did you get the role of Jim on Islands To The Stars?”

He had to ask, huh?  “I was a contract player at the studio.”

“How many conventions does this make for you now?”

What do I say … I was a Shakespearean actor, now I make money doing this?  “I’ve lost count.”

“Do you keep in contact …?”

“No.  It was another job to me.”

He laughed.  “Kind of mind-blowing after fifty years, huh?”

What do I say?  I hated the show, the cast and the producer an idiot?  He sighed. “Yeah … mind-blowing.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Fandom … And Who Needs It?

  1. neilmacdon says:

    Now that’s what I call a retirement story, William

  2. Dale says:

    Oy… Congrats on living on your own time!

  3. subroto says:

    So no tell-all book or reality show then?

  4. rgayer55 says:

    That’s why my fans are the 3-speed oscillating variety or cardboard pictures with popsicle stick handles. They’re really cool and don’t ask a lot of questions.

  5. draliman says:

    It is best to be diplomatic in these situations 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      Ain’t it the truth! Fans might know, and this is the thing that inspired the story since the desk also reminded me of interviews, is that, even though there might be friction on a TV show, the audience wants everyone to get along. I had a huge taste of that working on a Morning Show for 18 years.

      Shaking my head, shaking my head … 😦

  6. Dear Cuzzin Kent,

    Welcome back (and front). Your story brought this song to mind. Another ear worm. 😉
    Retirement where the new work uniform is jammies and fuzzy robe.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  7. wmqcolby says:

    Thank-you. Never heard this one. Brings back memories of being three years old. Also meeting Peter Noone in Vegas. Really a neat guy — married to the same woman, avoided the drugs, etc.

  8. granonine says:

    Ah, retirement. My dream.

  9. I think when we just work for the money retirement seems so much better…. maybe remaining a Shakespeare actor would have made the difference.

  10. Hola mi amigo,
    Hace tiempo pero ahora se porque. 😊
    CONGRATULATIONS!!! on retiring. Life will be so much better. Trust me. I’ve been retired from the art world since 10/06. I still have my on-line business but I can have coffee and work in uggy clothes. LOL
    You’ll be amazed at how busy your life will be. BUT … it will be the busy you want and like.
    Hasta la próxima … que pase un buen fin de semana.
    Adios,
    Isadora 😎

    • wmqcolby says:

      ¡Hola, amiguita! Que bueno a verte otra vez.
      Yes, it has been an unexpected experience. How it started was in October, my financial planner said I had three years to go, which put me WAY ahead of schedule for the standard age of retiring anyway. So, then, in January, I asked if those three years were still good and he said, “Yes. Or we can pull the trigger now. The markets have been exceptionally excellent.” I consider it my graduation, really. And, you’re right. I’m amazingly busy, but it’s the busy I like. In fact, one of my former co-workers got a hold of me and is asking me to edit her podcasts for her — for PAY! Now, THAT’S what I call a meal ticket. I wanted my next work to be portable and it is.

      Muchísimas gracias — ¿que es un al fin de semana? ¡CADA DÍA! ¡Ji ji ji ji ji!

      See you later!

      • Si es verdad .. es un fin de semana para siempre, desde ahora. 👍🏻
        Sometimes, new journeys open up to us when we stop thinking and searching for them. Positive relaxation, once stress has diminished, gives one blessings never seen or realized before. Great things always follow when the time is right. Much happiness for your new adventures and future joys.
        Hasta la promima! 😎

  11. plaridel says:

    i guess it wasn’t a total waste. at least, it paid the rent.

  12. I like how you “filtered” things. Congrats on retirement! I’ve been loving it for two years! Yeah us.

  13. wmqcolby says:

    Looks like a lot of people in the “club” I’m starting to find out about.
    The filtering was, for me, the fascination for the story. The desk reminded me of interviews.

  14. The main thing with retirement is not to sit there doing nothing, which I can’t imagine you doing for a moment! I stopped going out to work in a formal sense of the word at the age of 40. Ever since then, I’ve done bits and pieces from home, mostly to do with writing and music, and none of which have made me rich, but so what? I can wear what I like, eat and sleep at times that suit me, and not have to hear on a Monday morning about people’s weekends or holidays!

    Good to see you back, Ken.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Sarah. No, it hasn’t been idle since I did a lot of stuff on the side. I had hoped I’d be writing more, but I have been having to make some transitions like buying insurance, rerouting my bank accounts, etc. However, I have the time to do what I have always been doing, there’s just more of it now. Besides, I was idle enough in my job. It used to be a lot of work, but it got too easy. Since I had the means to retire and there were these young kids all work-ready and gung-ho, I thought, why should I stand in their way? I want to see them succeed, too! I miss them — and they have said they miss me! I trained them.

      • I like that you made way for the next generation, Ken, and felt ready to do so. Where I live, a lot people work past retirement age. This means that many young people can’t get jobs, my son included. Even training-on-the job positions are hard to come by, which is very demoralising for them. It’s lovely that the kids miss you, plus it’s a great compliment to you as a person.

  15. A wee bit of difference between the thoughts and the answer. He’d really become newsworthy if he answered the way he’s thinking. People expect a happy answer. Good writing, Kent. We’ll be looking forward to your serialized story. 🙂 — Suzanne

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Suzanne. You’re right, we all expect a happy answer. The headlines will definitely be on fire if they knew the truth.

      Rochelle is helping me with it since she knows novels better than I do.

  16. Ha, ha, if only he had swallowed a truth serum!

  17. wmqcolby says:

    Ohhhhh, don’t tease me, Clare! 😀 It might be a sequel! haha!

  18. Lynn Love says:

    Ha! I so often imagine actors thinking exactly these things as they answer the same question over and ober and over again! Happy retirement Kent! May to thoroughly enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

