A Slow News Day?

 

Ted Strutz on the Ferry in the rain.jpgUnfortunately in the news business, sometimes the reporters “become” the news with tragic results.  Reporter Kelly and Engineer Dan found this out on a live shot … almost.

This story first appeared in its original form June 26, 2013.  It has been re-written.

Photojournalist is Ted Strutz with his amazing picture.  Ted, you keep us going on slow days.

Stand by … in three … two … one …

+++++

Sparks flew overhead.

“Kelly!  Don’t!!!”

“I gotta get OUT of here!”

“A live wire’s tangled in the mast.  Truck’s electrified!  Step out and you’re DEAD!”

“Dan, that pole’s gonna crash down any second!”

“Listen, Kelly.  Put both feet together, OK?  Jump out, LAND on them together.  Then, take TINY baby steps toward me.”

Kelly held her breath and jumped onto the pavement.  Ten baby steps later, she fell into Dan’s arms. The pole fell, the truck exploded in flames.

“You OK?”

Kelly puffed.  “Fine.”

Dan shrugged, nervously chuckling.  “Guess we thumb a ride and declare a slow news day, huh?”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to A Slow News Day?

  1. Dear Cuzzin Kent,

    Methinks a fire of another kind is on the verge of igniting. I like where this is going. 😉

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  2. wmqcolby says:

    Yeah? I didn’t intend for that, but, hey! Whatever floats the old boat …

  3. neilmacdon says:

    Even in 100 words you can start with one story and find it going in a completely unexpected direction

  4. wmqcolby says:

    It happens a lot of times to me. I’m glad that there are others of you who see what I can’t.

  5. draliman says:

    I hope Dan remembered to film Kelly’s daring escape, rather cold-blooded though it may have seemed at the time. It could make Kelly’s career, she’ll thank him later 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      You know, that’s something that very easily could have happened, except he’s only an engineer. The photog could have come separately and left before the accident.

  6. Iain Kelly says:

    Well, at least they have something good to put on the news – did anyone get obligatory mobile phone footage of it! 🙂

  7. rgayer55 says:

    Well done, Kent. I could feel the tension, but surprised she could follow directions so well. I could just see Polly Purebred shuffling along in four-inch heels and stumbling into the arms of her Wally Cox camera man.

  8. jellico84 says:

    Wow! And I thought directing traffic around live wires was fun! The tension in this is, well, tense! Love it!

  9. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Jell. I was hoping for that kind of reaction which I got the last time I published this story. This is a better-written one, I think. I was able to put more in it. It’s a favorite of mine due to the nature of the story (my career).

  10. granonine says:

    Live wires make dead people! Glad for the happy ending on this one 🙂

  11. This sounds like a good start for a lovely romance actually… how else could it continue?

    • wmqcolby says:

      I think it was that first line “sparks flew” that has people all a-twitter. It was not part of the original story, just something to start the action and the tension.

  12. plaridel says:

    so glad they lived to tell about it. 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      To be honest, it was based on two things. One, there had been within the last ten years or so, a story of a reporter who had actually been killed in this way and her engineer. The second was the manual that engineers had been given a few years ago on safety procedures dealing with the scenario of a live truck’s antenna and the principles behind electrification, how to get out safely, etc. I incorporated that into the story.

  13. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Ha, I guess sparks were flying. Nice story.

  14. wmqcolby says:

    I guess they were.

  15. Michael Wynn says:

    Great tension, on false step and she’s toast

  16. Dale says:

    I think a definite spark has occurred here…
    Five on five electrical currants…

  17. michael1148humphris says:

    Now I know why I do not trust electricity,

  18. I’ve read that this is exactly what you are supposed to do.
    That Dan is a hero….<3

  19. wmqcolby says:

    Yes, you might remember this story, Dawn, a couple of years ago. I based the procedure off of a tech manual at my TV station.

  20. Sarah Ann says:

    Such energy and great voices telling this slow news day!

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hey, Thank-you VERY much, Sarah Ann! You know, the thing is, I have known people like this since I worked in the industry for 21 years. It was a natural.

  21. Exciting story, Kent. You put plenty of action into it. That was close and I’m happy to hear they were okay. Good writing. 🙂 — Suzanne

  22. I was on the edge of my seat. Well done!

  23. wmqcolby says:

    Haha! YES!
    Thanks, Clare! The effect I was hoping for. 🙂

  24. Miles Rost says:

    Well! That was quite a ride, if I might say so! Well well done!

  25. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Miles! Nice of you to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

