Adult Education

 

Claire Sheldon.jpg

Today’s photo is courtesy of Claire Sheldon.  Thanks, Claire.  It reminds me of homework and school days.

When this story first appeared in its original form on May 21, 2014, it became, and remains, my most commented-on posting.  Let’s see if lightning strikes twice.

First, read the story, then click on the link below it.  It is based on a news story my former station ran.  You’ll get to see American local TV and the two wonderful people I worked with.

+++++

Laura put her arms around Mike’s neck and kissed it.

She cooed.“Whatcha thinkin’ about, baby?”

Mike struggled with the words. “You, me, those sensational nights together.  I think you can guess the rest.”

She stiffened.  “You’re in love with me?”

He nodded. “OK.  So, this wasn’t in our agreement, but …”

She pushed herself away. “No, Mike! I am graduating this semester.  Don’t screw up a good thing.”

Mike saw in her eyes that it was over.

He wrote a check with ones and many zeroes for her final college semester and handed it to her. “You could do worse.”

+++++

Looking inside the dating world of Sugar Daddies and Sugar Babies

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to Adult Education

  1. neilmacdon says:

    I can see why this was the most commented on

  2. Sandra says:

    Nothing quite so sweet as a sugar daddy. And this one sounds very, very sweet. Nice one Kent.

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    Well, if the money buys her happiness and an education, I’m sure she’ll get over him!

    • wmqcolby says:

      That she probably will. This is essentially a gold digger-type story, only in reverse. She’s actually providing something in return.

      • Most gold-diggers do. Sex is usually their shovel.

      • wmqcolby says:

        This is true. Men will never change in this capacity.

      • I’ve concluded it’s as much about acceptance and ego as it is about physical satisfaction. He pays for her time and she has to accept him just the way he is. No hassles about “You should change..” And he gets to show off his latest bauble, makes him look like a big shot — in his own eyes at least.

      • wmqcolby says:

        Yes, that is true. On the other hand, suppose he really wanted her in the first place and offered her money for college hoping she’d fall in love with him? Like I told Dale, if it’s harmless (I suggested in my story that it wasn’t harmless) and they aren’t married, fine, but he could have spent his money on better things … things that will last!

  4. Oh well! I guess they both got something.

  5. Sweet as it should be… I think she will do all right, after all that’s what dads are for.

  6. James says:

    Reminds me of the old Beatles song “Can’t Buy Me Love.”

  7. Dear Cuzzin Kent,

    A good one to revisit. They’ve found good uses for each other it seems. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  8. Rowena says:

    Not sure about these two. Think they both need a bang on the head and a bit of a wake up call.
    Well written, though, especially the dialogue. I’ll go and read the original.
    xx Rowena

  9. Good story and thanks for posting the link. Really enlightening!

  10. L.E.R.T says:

    There is this author who made millions by writing about paid, conditional love. They even made a couple of movies, I think..

  11. michael1148humphris says:

    Being a sugar daddy’s can be dangerous, sounds like he is about to get dumped, it often happens.

  12. Apparently you can choose who you love, as long as you have a big enough bank account.
    There’s always a fine line between sexual harassment and business agreements, no wonder this was controversial. I’m torn.
    Tracey

  13. wmqcolby says:

    Hey, Tracey! Good to see you. Yeah, it’s mostly a sort of gentleman’s agreement as to method of execution. She needs the college money, he provides it on the condition of “keeping company” with her. Some of it is innocent, some is not. It depends on the individual. What got me was a lot of these guys were professors! YIKES!

  14. Dale says:

    I worked with an old fart Notary who “helped” out young Uni students…
    Don’t think he was ever stupid enough to fall for any of them, though

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yeah, it depends on the man and how lonely he is. Like the news story said, they just want companionship, a lot of them, which is what makes it a little suspect in terms of ethics. Then again, if it’s just harmless companionship and nothing more than that (and as long as the guy isn’t married) I don’t see anything wrong with it … other than thinking, “He could have spent his money on BETTER things. Like things that LAST!” 😀

    • wmqcolby says:

      What gets me, though, is how these girls find these guys attractive. I would think that attraction would count for SOMETHING, especially if the guy’s ten years older than Methuselah.

  15. granonine says:

    I just finished watching the video. Honestly, sounds to me like a new wrinkle on the oldest profession in the world–and not even all that new

    You did a great job of writing your scene.

  16. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks. It’s the old Pygmalion tale in a different way. WAY different. 🙂

  17. draliman says:

    Ah, he broke the first rule… nice one!

  18. Lynn Love says:

    Well, she was certainly in charge in that relationship! Nicely spun round from the norm, Kent.

  19. gahlearner says:

    Great writing! I’m a bit torn, too. But this arrangement seems to be set on clear rules, no one is lying, or hiding. There is consent… And the power doesn’t seem to be only where the money is. And a lot of young women do find older men quite attractive, at least for a while. I guess it depends much on the arrangement.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Good and insightful comment, Gab. In my story, which I might want to make into a longer one, I saw the guy as 40’s-50’s and not much going on in his life. He would be desperate enough to make an opportunistic girl stay by him and try to win her over. It wouldn’t work in the end because she does not change, but he does.

  20. Cannot decide who is being taken advantage of? guess both of them get what they are after.
    http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/07/thank-you-claire-sheldon-for.html

  21. Scared of lightning so won’t comment on this glorious little tale.

  22. Dahlia says:

    I wasnt expecting this – very nicely written.

  23. csheldonblog says:

    Thanks, this is my desk at work… The cup is full staples

  24. Miles Rost says:

    This story is one that bugs me, but not in a bad way. It makes me think about relationships and people. It’s…thought-provoking. Well done, good sir!

  25. No letting affection get in the way of advancement. But there is a saying, what goes around comes around.

  26. I’m not sure about the whole sugar daddy thing. It’s a bit sad for the guy if he darned well goes and falls in love with the girl. It’s a bit difficult to agree in advance about what your emotional response to another person will be further down the line, as if you can place fixed boundaries around feelings.

    I like the dialogue, even if I do end up feeling sorry for the guy!

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Sarah! It looks like, to me, if I compared this version with the original I wrote awhile back, there is something understated about the original version. I’m learning things with re-writes that never occurred to me. Yes, I actually added more dialogue this time. Seems to work, anyway. I can tell it’s a story with a much larger canvas awaiting.

  27. You’ve really got me thinking with this piece. I didn’t know the whole sugar daddy paying for college thing existed. I like the fact that you had him falling for her because usually it’s the other way around. Well done.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Oh, thanks, Sascha! Yeah, I was kind of surprised when the news story came out (we ran ads on the station to promote the story on the broadcast) and it was … quite an eye-opener. I seem to have heard a story about a guy falling in love with a girl he has another type of arrangement with, but I can’t seem to remember it. There actually have been so many. I would love to see a character study of both of these people.

  28. Ethical not ethical, a deal is a deal 😉
    Good story.

  29. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! Well, there you have it, Dawn. A deal is a deal. Thanks! 😀

  30. I can see where this is a potential bomb waiting to go off. Nothing is cut and dried. It’s risky and people can get hurt. Blackmail is also a risk. I would say, “No thanks.”. Good writing, Kent. —- Suzanne

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Suzanne! Rochelle told me she thought the easier response on HIS part would be, “Go get a student loan, babe.” and tear up the check! That would have been interesting. 😀

  31. subroto says:

    Sugar daddies and sugar babies have been around for a while. Technology just makes it easier for the interested parties to get in touch. Apparently men with annual incomes of over $5 or $10 million get the most attention. Good story and yes will spark a big debate.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks, Sub. I doubt it will stir a hornet’s nest this time, since the comment count is much smaller. However, yes. Technology has allowed for some of these things to happen. What got me were some of them were professors!

      • subroto says:

        I don’t about professors but on SeekingArrangement, the top three self-reported job categories are entrepreneur (20 percent), high-ranking executive (18 percent), and software engineer (16 percent). Apparently some of the daddies view this as a sort of philanthropy. They also claim to provide mentorship and life guidance. It is a controversial topic and I can understand the debate that goes on about it.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Hey, I couldn’t comment on your blogspot site. It won’t let me. Can you tell me if my comment came through? If not, I’ll have to comment here.

      • subroto says:

        It didn’t. I tried a few combinations myself, so it seems a google account can comment easily but the others need to click on the “i am not a robot” checkbox after providing name, rank and social security number.

  32. Hi Kent,
    I’ve had a busy weekend. Sorry about the delay in getting to your story.
    This is an interesting subject. I had reflected upon this when it had come out on the news years ago.
    BTW … loved the video info but hated that truck intro. Gosh … a bit of wild boars in it. : O
    Anywho, I believe this subject will be controversial forever. With the liqioudation of morals and ethics, you have to wonder if this might not become much more in vogue. I won’t give my specific opinion because there isn’t enough room or time. However, brothels were a part of society way back in the 1902’s, during prohibition, as it is still today in Vegas … I won’t even mention politicians …. soooo …. why should anything change now. It’s all chop liver, if you ask me???
    Ahhh … your stories always have something to sink our teeth into. Such a challenger you are …
    Mazol Tov … Shalom
    Adios, mi amigo,
    Iz 😎

    • wmqcolby says:

      Wow. Gee whiz, Iz, I had no idea! But, I’m glad you think so. It is true that I strive for some grain of truth about humanity, its fallen state and the kind of world we have made for ourselves. Then, again, I don’t want to write premises like TV movie issue-of-the-week, either. They have their uses, but are overused. Anyway, thanks for stopping by. You can send me comments anytime outside the deadlines, I understand.

      Te cuidas y hasta el proximo tiempo.

  33. Sarah Ann says:

    Ouch. The poor guy, but he knew the rules when he started. Well told.

  34. Sorry it’s taken so long for me to stop by. I enjoyed your take on the prompt as well as the video you shared. Alicia

Leave a Reply

