The Ride of A Lifetime

vw-in-israel-wmq.jpg

EXPLANATION OF PHOTO:  I took this picture in Bethlehem, Israel.  I was so excited to see a thirty year-old Kansas license plate in the window.  It is from Reno County and the “J” is the first letter of the last name of the owner.  I never found out whose car this was.

Anyway …

Let’s talk about trains and how a train ride made all the difference.

 

+++++

Willie saw the impressive turnout for the memorial service.

An older gentleman turned to him and asked, “You had family on the train?”

“Yes, my grandfather.  You?”

“Yes, I actually was on the train.  Lived here in London since.”  He glanced through his program.  “I was all of seven when I met Nicky.  It feels quite odd to call him Sir Nicholas.”  He paused, then laughed.  “Can you imagine?  A man goes on two-week holiday and ends up years later with hundreds of children?”

A woman approached the dais.  “I’m Barbara Winton, and on behalf of the Winton family …”

+++++

Sir Nicholas Winton, organizer of the Kinder Transport that saved the lives of many Jewish children during World War II.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to The Ride of A Lifetime

  1. lillian says:

    Oh this is a wonderful story….and thank you for educating me here. I was not aware of this.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Neither was I a few months ago when this appeared on a Facebook page. After checking it out, I discovered how long ago this took place and the news was just leaking out. I’m happy to see he died full of years (105!).

  2. Same here, wmqcolby – love being edge-u-cake-ed!

  3. granonine says:

    I loved this story when I first heard of it. Such a quiet hero. You’ve done a great job of bringing his story back to warm our hearts.

  4. Sandra says:

    A fitting tribute to a very noble man. Excellent, Kent.

  5. Fluid Phrase says:

    Wow! This is a tribute. Thank you for sharing this. I had no idea.

  6. Iain Kelly says:

    A great man and a lovely tale. It’s a shame to think what he would make of the way child refugees are being treated today.

    • wmqcolby says:

      He had a say about that, but I don’t remember what it was. He also stated we should all be concentrating on the past and not the present. He was a great man.

  7. rgayer55 says:

    Great piece, Kent. When all those people stood up, I thought of their children, grandchildren, and future generations that would come to pass because of one brave man. 5 stars.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thanks for the stars, Russell! As for the generations, they keep growing. There’s a 60 Minutes report on Youtube about him by the late Bob Simon from a few years ago that says what you say. Really worth a look!

  8. Jelli says:

    I have read about this Gentleman of Gentle men. A real world hero, indeed. 🙂 ❤

  9. Dear Cuzzin Kent,

    This video, though I’ve seen it many times, never fails to bring tears. Your story does it justice. One of your best.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  10. Moon says:

    Thanks for introducing us to Sir Nicholas Winton . I bow to him.
    Such a beautiful story . Thanks for sharing the very touching video that helped me to appreciate the story even better .

  11. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Kent, Sir Winston was a hero! Thank you so much and you wrote a great story! Nan

  12. plaridel says:

    great story. war does indeed bring out the best and worst in men.

    • wmqcolby says:

      A very good observation, Plaridel. We tend to think of the heroes of war like Marshall and Patton, etc. (and we should), but we need to think of the little people like Raul Wallenberg, Oscar Schindler, Corrie Ten Boom — now Nicholas Winton.

      Thanks!

  13. Wonderful story and great intro. I hadn’t heard of Sir Winston but am grateful that I now do and thanks to you for that.

  14. draliman says:

    Lovely, I’d not heard of Sir Nicholas and the Kinder Transport so thanks for your story.

  15. We need a lot more of that. Great piece of faction.

  16. Great story and you’ve educated me too!

  17. Dale says:

    Beautifully done, Kent. Having trouble typing through the tears… though, like Rochelle, I’ve seen the video before. I’m such a wuss…

    • wmqcolby says:

      Thank-you, Dale. I can’t watch it myself without being so moved. As for the story, I feel like I didn’t put a whole lot of effort in it and, like the hero of the piece, went on to the next thing. That’s why I’m surprised as he was about the reactions on this blog.

      Thanks, Dale! 🙂

  18. Your words, the video…. I can add nothing except to thank you for posting this.

    Click to read my FriFic

  19. Pingback: License to Drive: Fiction Friday | It's a long story …

  20. Wonderfully satisfying to be taught something new! The pun in your title is beautiful! Btw, I almost thought it was about St. Nick!😊

  21. wmqcolby says:

    Hee-hee-heeeeeee! You know, Sabina, you might have been close at that!

    Thanks for your nice comments. 🙂

  22. yarnspinnerr says:

    Lovely tribute to a great man. Thanks for telling us about him ( I did not know about Sir Nicholas Winton),

  23. Liz Young says:

    He was a splendid and very brave man. Great story.

  24. wmqcolby says:

    He certainly was, Liz, and not really affected by it all. He just did what he felt had to be done.

  25. Michael Wynn says:

    Great tribute, well told. In the back of my mind I knew a little of this but you’ve educated me

  26. I’ve heard of tis man before. Thanks for writing about him, its a wonderful reminder.

  27. Such a moving story and it makes me feel guilty that I needed to have my memory jogged about what he’d done

  28. Never heard of this man; I’ll have to read more. As regards the children I’ve heard that Canada made a very poor showing of sympathy. Apparently Jewish groups begged the Minister of Immigration to issue passports for French refugee children and he had no ears for their pleas.

Leave a Reply

