How Did I Miss This?

I graduated high school 40 years ago this year.  Apparently, 1980 was a different time than I thought.  Thanks to Jean Hays for this neat pic!

the-gate.jpg

+++++

TO: Wm. Colby, Esq., USA

FROM: Harlington-Straker Studios

DATE:  September 13th, 1980

Esteemed Mister Colby,

It has come to our attention that our SHADO DEFENCE near the studio destroyed some 10 of your Frisbees due to a malfunction in our SID (Space Intruder Detector) up in earth’s orbit.  I, therefore, would like to invite you to dinner with myself, Col. Virginia Lake, complete with a tour our underwater facilities. There you will see our new netted uniforms for the ladies of the crew.

Warmest Regards,

Colonel Virginia Lake

PS.  Bring something to blow up.  We’re fresh out of UFO’s.

+++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to How Did I Miss This?

  1. neilmacdon says:

    Yeah, that’s how I remember the 1980s. Crop circles everywhere

  2. I would also like to see the lady crew members new netted uniforms 😉

    • wmqcolby says:

      You know something? When I saw that show back in the day, I couldn’t believe they got away with that on TV. Of course, British TV was considered “edgier” than American, but how it got on in syndication in America … especially in MY part of the midwest!

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    What an invite. Virginia Lake sounds tempting. It could be too good to be true…

  4. plaridel says:

    looks like he’s in for a special treat from the ladies. 🙂

  5. wmqcolby says:

    You read it correctly. 😉

  6. Sandra says:

    The netted uniforms – why only for the ladies? No, forget that… I think I see why.

    • wmqcolby says:

      Yes, I figured you’d see why, Sandra. 😀 And, yes, the guys wore them, too. I only saw a few episodes back in the day. Those costumes were kind of racy for the time (in America, anyway).

  7. ceayr says:

    Sorry, Kent, but once again I have no idea what is going on here.
    I guess I didn’t watch enough TV back in the day.
    Five out of five wrinkled foreheads

  8. wmqcolby says:

    It was a Gerry and Sylvia Anderson show called UFO that aired in 1970 and lasted for one year. It took place in 1980 (hence, the title of the story). They defended the earth against UFO’s trying to destroy us. Effects were pretty cool. So, the guy with the Frisbees probably got them blown up through a malfunction in their system and they want to make amends. And if you saw the women in the series … WOW! 😀

  9. Dear Cuzzin Kent,

    Given the era and our tastes in television, I can’t believe I never saw one episode. So I really missed it. Beam me up Scotty. Oh wait. 1970? That explains a lot. I’ll go back to scratching my head now. Cute story, nonetheless.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  10. Dale says:

    We graduated one year apart. Me in ’81 – but, here in Quebec, we only go to grade 11 before going to college…

    As for this story, however did I miss this show? And truly, I am shocked the States picked it up, you guys being so prudish and all 😉

    Fun one!

    • wmqcolby says:

      “Prudish?” Surely you JEST (I know — you’re name’s Dale). It was in syndication. Gerry Anderson always was making stuff for the American market. That’s why his puppets “In Supermarionation” shows had American accents. In fact, I had to laugh at that PS because Gerry Anderson had said that “kids like to see things blow up a lot” and that’s why his puppet shows had a lot of ships go BOOM. As for UFO, it only lasted a season, but there are episodes on Youtube. Ed Bishop was in it (he played a shuttle pilot in 2001: A Space Odyssey). I liked him.

      Thanks for reading (read: enduring)

  11. Never knew about this show … now I gotta go check it out …

  12. wmqcolby says:

    It’s from 1970. You can find it on Youtube, a few episodes. It lasted one season.

  13. Well! Now I’m almost (almost) sad I didn’t have a T.V. when we were growing up. I had to watch whatever the neighbors had on. This is a fun story and thanks for adding the video.

    • wmqcolby says:

      I loved TV! That’s why I went into the biz. Of course, the industry isn’t what it used to be but I still I have good memories of it. Amazingly, Paddy Chayefsky loved it, too, because he did incredible writing in the 1950’s then went on to movies (Marty, The Americanization of Emily, Network, etc.). He gave TV quality it never had through his plays. Thanks for reading!

  14. draliman says:

    Nothing says “professional” like a netted uniform. I wouldn’t mind working on the moon base, except that purple hair seems to be a pre-requisite… 🙂

  15. wmqcolby says:

    Only on the girls. In fact, and it has been a long time, I don’t remember any men working on the moon base. Of course, maybe there were and I probably wasn’t paying attention for obvious reasons. 😀

  16. granonine says:

    We chose not to have a television back then. Clearly, I missed some fascinating shows 🙂

Leave a comment