You Don’t Bring Me … Pasta?

 

flowers and packing boxes Dale R.jpgThis picture has been provided by the Dale-ectable Dale Rogerson.  She was pretty popular last week on someone’s blog (what’s so funny about that, I wonder?) and she just popped up again.

Must be those Youtubes are paying off finally.

+++++

“So … Dale brought these to you, huh?”

“Yeah. Usually it’s a pasta dish of hers.”

“Food, now flowers.  She likes you, Bill, I can tell.”

“Either way, I’ll send her a nice note.  But, flowers?  I don’t get it.”

Bill promptly typed an e-mail.

“Dearest Dale,

Thanks for the lovely flowers.  Such a sweet gesture, as always.  I was expecting one of your delicious pasta dishes, but these were great.  Russell thought so, too.  We ate them fast!

Yours, WMQ.”

TWO DAYS LATER —-

“Nothing from Dale?”

“Only a bag of filberts and a note that says, ‘Nuts to you.’ “

+++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

105 Responses to You Don’t Bring Me … Pasta?

  1. Varad says:

    Hahaha! Bill is utterly clueless. Thanks for the chuckle, WMQ.

  2. neilmacdon says:

    You’re flirting. I swear you’re flirting, William

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    I’m surprised she sent you the nuts after that, I wouldn’t expect anything else.

  4. gahlearner says:

    Hahaha. Our Dale always has the perfect answer. That was fun, William-Kent.

  5. Dear Cuzzin Kent,

    Hilarious. Bill’s not the brightest crayon in the box is he? And Russell…never mind.

    Five out of five nasturtiums with Italian dressing.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Shelley

  6. Sandra says:

    I hope Bill enjoyed his flowers. And remembered to put the filberts in a pretty vase as well. 🙂

  7. wmqcolby says:

    HAHAHAHA! And another great response. Thanks, Sandra.

    I think Russell has been channeled this week.

  8. Miles Rost says:

    I sense an episode of the Galloping Gourmet was involved. Excellent and hilarious work…and a great job on utilizing the power of the fakeout song lyric!

  9. Lata Sunil says:

    Nuts!! really! Hhahaha

  10. When she read that Bill & Russ had chowed down the flowers she sent, she gave up on the old goats.
    She’d just got home from mailing the symolic bag of nuts when her doorbell rang and the most gorgeous francophone she’d ever seen was saying, “Bonjour ma belle. H’m Andre an h’I’m ere to h’inspect de dommage by de flooding h’in your ouse.”
    And she said, “Entre, Andre. Who needs Bill?” 😚

  11. Rowena says:

    I enjoyed this. There were so many possibilities with the flowers. My flash has a Bill too.
    xx Rowena

  12. wmqcolby says:

    Oh, well, let’s go see it! Maybe these guys are related. 😀

    Thanks for stopping by, Rowena! 🙂

  13. Lynn Love says:

    You’re the cheeky one! No wonder she’s sending you nuts now. Nice bit of fun there Kent 🙂

  14. Dale says:

    I was so busy commenting on others’ comments, I almost forgot to leave my own…
    Oh Lawzy, Kent… You kill me… And I agree with Neil, you are such a flirt.
    However did I become so popular. Two weeks in a row!

  15. I’ve just got the biggest grin on my face right now.
    Thanks Kent..and all the rest of you! lol

  16. Liz Young says:

    I guess you have to be American to know what filberts are! Cute story.

  17. Fluid Phrase says:

    Hahaha! That was so funny. Thank you for the fun story!

  18. Jelli says:

    good giggler!

  19. Somehow I feel the need to floss! A very fun story, bringing in many “famous” actors and actresses from the FF pool.

  20. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Another enjoyable and twisted story. I can’t wait to see what Dale sends next.

  21. wmqcolby says:

    Hopefully something more edible for Bill. 😀

  22. granonine says:

    How delightful to start this week’s reading with a funny story 🙂

    • wmqcolby says:

      It was based on my great aunt and uncle. They used to do this to each other a lot! 😀 They were real characters. She was the one who sent him the filberts with the note.

      • granonine says:

        They must have been a lot of fun.

      • wmqcolby says:

        Oh, they were. She lived in Bend, Oregon and he lived in Chicago and they always sent each other funny birthday cards. My grandma, their sister, was, if I remember right, the youngest in the bunch and she never did anything funny. She was a very sweet lady, of course.

  23. ROFL 😀 Thanks for making my day 🙂 Dale should send Bill a bill for the flowers and the pasta for being you-know-what 🙂

  24. Thank you for starting my trawl through the posts with a laugh! Delightful.

    Click to read my FriFic

  25. rgayer55 says:

    Dear Kent,

    How did you get to be the first link in the Hollywood Squares? Did you pay the Queen off in face-paint? I do love pasta and I bet Dale is a great cook. Flowers are pretty, but the stems get between my teeth and they leave a horrible aftertaste. Next time, ask for cashews.

  26. wmqcolby says:

    Dear Russell,

    Yes, Dale is a great cook because she has a Youtube channel where she did some demos of making food. They’re kind of cute, really. She told me I became her Youtube Stalker. 😀 Go check her out. It’s under her name.

    And you’re right, cashews are better than flowers. Ever tried filberts? They’re pretty good. Tough to crack, though.

    As for the posting, It’s not the first time I have gotten onto the Brady Bunch wall first. I did one other time several years ago. This time, though, I caught a bad cold on Monday and was up all night with it. Usually, she posts around 2:30 AM or 3:00 AM and I wrote the story in just a few minutes, which doesn’t happen often. There’s an other story I took time with that has been posted. Have a look at it.

    • The Queen is quite allergic to filberts.

      Before the days of blissful retirement and sleeping in until past 5, I used to get up at 2:30. Thanks to Madison I learned how to put my stories on autopilot. This might explain why my link appears farther down the line. Sorry to have butted in here…what am I saying? So not sorry.

      JDR W(T)F

  27. wmqcolby says:

    Why is it the calendar week has in the middle WTF …?

  28. Feeling out of the loop here, and I had to look up the word filbert (delighted to say that I have a hazelnut bush growing on my allotment). Talking of nuts … of the crazy kind of course…

  29. wmqcolby says:

    I knew them as filberts, but now they are called hazel nuts. The Queen is deathly allergic to these, so no Nutella for her. I am SO behind the times, I imagine.

  30. Funny, I have to admit that I would prefer Dale’s Italian cooking over flowers any day.

  31. wmqcolby says:

    Although, I’d say the way she would make them would be delicious. 😀

  32. Alice Audrey says:

    Eating the flowers could be living dangerously, and not just because some are toxic.

  33. wmqcolby says:

    I remember in college Chinese student drinking tee from rose petals or something. They knew more about it than we did at the time. It was pretty good.

  34. Very funny!
    I giggled all the way, from start to finish!

  35. wmqcolby says:

    Thought you might like it, Sabina. And I’m happy you did.

  36. Dale wants Bill to be healthy and possess a good memory.. hence the nuts. 🙂 (nuts are supposed to boost memory. so children consume them)
    http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/08/prompt-dale-rogerson-she-practiced-neck.html

    • wmqcolby says:

      I’m sure you’re right on that, Kalpana. Maybe he’s just a little too “milky in the filbert” (crazy).

      I liked your story, too. Sometimes it’s hard for the healer to heal as well as the one getting healed. Nice job!

  37. subroto says:

    As the quote goes “An idealist is one who, on noticing that roses smell better than a cabbage, concludes that it will also make better soup”. Though flowers au naturale will do too. Five out of five cauliflowers for this one.

  38. wmqcolby says:

    Thanks, Lily! 🙂

  39. A fragrant tale, Bill, which made me chuckle all the way through my bowl of pasta. Ty. Ty.

  40. Loved this. My first read and left me laughing. Thank you for that!

  41. wmqcolby says:

    Well, mucho apreciado, Sascha! Glad I could set the tone for a good (hopefully good, anyway) day of reading for you. 🙂

  42. This had me laughing early on a Sunday morning, always good. And who knew Dale was a you tube cook? Will check that out too. 🙂

  43. Dee says:

    Enjoyed reading all the comments in order to catch up… you certainly entertained a lot of people this week. Thought you may like this, just to add a finishing touch…https://www.funnyhowflowersdothat.co.uk/food-and-flowers-milan%E2%80%99s-%E2%80%98poet-florist%E2%80%99
    Take care
    Dee

    • wmqcolby says:

      Wow! Well, what do you know? That’s pretty cool, Dee. To me, that is the epitome of what I think of Italy, that approach with the flowers. I have never been there but I would like to go someday. All the best to you, Dee! 🙂

  44. Hehehehe
    This was silly

  45. wmqcolby says:

    Glad you thought so. 😉

Leave a comment