A Bright Idea

Antique Desk

I like this pic Rochelle took because of my enjoyment of American history.   Since I have been busy with other projects and the prompt fits the subject matter well, I thought I’d give you folks a story from last year.  Those of you new to my blog, please enjoy this story which has a touch of the old fashioned in it.  

By the way, Rochelle not only took this picture, she’s also the Friday Fictioneers Webmistress.  

+++++

I couldn’t find Grandma’s kerosene lamps anywhere.  I looked all over.  Nothing.  Those lamps had history for her and Grandpa.  When the power went out at her house, he brought them to her kitchen along with a marriage proposal.

When I arrived home, I discovered Peggy in my kitchen with Grandma’s lamps glowing on the kitchen island!

“Surprise!  I was in the neighborhood and your Grandma let me in.  She said you’d need these.”

I sure did.  Her face beaming brighter than the flame in the lamps, I knelt down at Peggy’s feet and placed a ring on her finger.

+++++

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A Bright Idea

  1. storydivamg says:

    I’m glad grandma helped out. Nice story.

    And since you’re dusting off old pieces, may I point out an issue that would be easy to fix? In your final sentence, you have a misplaced modifier that describes “I” as having “her face.” Might want to move that to modify Peggy instead. 😉

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  2. rgayer55 says:

    Aw, you old sweet sap, you. What a mushy tale. You’ll be popular with all the ladies.

  3. Amy Reese says:

    Oh, this is so romantic. This made me smile. I think my heart just fluttered. There’s something to be said for the old-fashioned sentiment. It really never gets old.

  4. Sandra says:

    Awww. Who would have taken you for a romantic… 😉 Nice one, and a cheery one amidst the gloom of this week. Thank you, Kent.

  5. K.Z. says:

    i remember this story! it’s really lovely, glad i got to read it again 🙂

  6. Dear Kent,

    Error, Will Robinson! My dear husband took the picture last year in a museum type house in upstate New York.

    The earmark of a good flash fiction is that it stands alone without the photo. This one fits the bill. Different photo prompt, same sweet story.

    Shalom,

    Cuzzin Rukhel Schvester

  7. helenmidgley says:

    Aww, who said romance was dead 😉

  8. This was so sweet, Kent. And certainly a different take on the prompt. Loving it 🙂

  9. Anita says:

    Bright idea indeed, Kent. Light & Wife together on that dark night! 🙂

  10. That’s one smooth grandma. Good use of old material. Hope the other projects are going well. Until next time!

  11. Yes this story was rememberable.. such sweetness… and what a caring grand-ma…

  12. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Kent, Great story! I enjoyed it so much! You are a romantic at heart! How sweet and endearing! Thanks! Nan 🙂

  13. Lovely, with a capital LOVE!

  14. Kent, That sounds just like the end of a romance novel. L3 It was great with all the touches of home and hearth. I can hear the ladies sighing from here. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  15. That L3 was supposed to make a heart, but didn’t work. It’s the first time I’ve tried that symbol. It was probably something I did wrong. —Susan

  16. shanx says:

    🙂 That was sweet 🙂 The old ways are always enjoyable to read!

Leave a Reply

